Embleton, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Embleton, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Embleton, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Embleton, Durham
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockton
County Durham
Poor Law Union Sedgefield PLU
Registration District Stockton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1650; For more records see Sedgefield
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EMBLETON, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Sedgefield, N. E. division of Stockton ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 8½ miles (N. by W.) from Stockton... The chapel, situated on the brink of the dene, appears to have been originally of larger dimensions than it now is. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non-Conformist churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241356.


Poor Law Unions

Sedgefield Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Embleton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 173-177. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 01:40.
  • This page has been accessed 1,948 times.