Epperstone, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Epperstone, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Epperstone Holy+Cross Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Southwell PLU|
|Parish registers: 1582|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1605|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
EPPERSTON (Holy Cross),a parish, in the union of Southwell, S. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton and of the county of Nottingham, 10 miles (N. N. E.) from Nottingham. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Epperstone Holy Cross is an Ancient Parish; the village and civil parish of Epperstone are within the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire. See Epperstone Wikipedia
The Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the history of the church Epperstone Holy Cross
The parish church of Holy Cross Main Street Epperstone has been designated as a grade I listed bulding British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Epperstone, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|EPPERSTONE PARISH Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Epperstone
Epperstone - Church of the Holy Cross. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions both inside and outside the church, dated from 1717, giving surname, given name, date of death, age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 59, pages 18-21, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
- ↑ 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 01:57.
- This page has been accessed 2,513 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News