Eppleton, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Eppleton, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Eppleton, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Eppleton, Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Easington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Houghton le Spring
Registration District Houghton le Spring
Records begin
Parish registers: 1887
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Houghton le Spring
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office


Parish History

EPPLETON, LITTLE, a township, in the parish and union of Houghton-le-Spring, N. division of Easington ward and of the county of Durham, 6¼ miles (E. N. E.) from Durham. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Houghton-le-Spring are also available at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL:-

  • Chilton Moor 1876-1987 (EP/CM).
  •  Hetton-le-Hole (see below)
  •  Eppleton 1887-1990 (EP/Ep).
  •  Hetton Downs
  •  Lyons (or Easington Lane) 1869-1973 (EP/EL.SM)
  •  Newbottle 1842-1976 (EP/Ne).
  •  West Herrington 1841-1847 (EP/Ho).
Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241354.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 01:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,793 times.