Erlenbach parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Erlenbach parish

Guide to Erlenbach parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Erlenbach was originally part of the church parish of Küsnacht. In 1703, the filial church in Erlenbach became an independent Protestant parish.

Place Names

Locations within Erlenbach

Allmend
Allmendli
Berghof
Bergli
Bindschädler
Erlenbach
Hitzberg
Isler

Jungholz
Kapf
Kappeli
Laubholz
Lerchenberg
Mariahalde
Martinstift
Pflugstein

Sandfelsen
Schlotter
Sonnenberg
Stalden
Turm
Wanne
Winkel

Surrounding Parishes

Herrliberg
Küsnacht
Thalwil

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

For censuses prior to 1703, see the records found under Küsnacht. The following censuses are available for Erlenbach:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1640 1185143 1 71
1709 1185169 1 357
1725 1185173 1 623
1763 1185173 1 717

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Erlenbach families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Erlenbach belongs to the Küsnacht civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt Küsnacht
Obere Dorfstrasse 32
CH-8700 Küsnacht

Tel: +41 44 913 13 22

email: zivilstandsamt@kuesnacht.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Erlenbach prior to 1875:

Aeberli
Bindschädler
Bodmer
Brunner
Bühler
Gimpert
Graf
Gugolz

Hardmeier
Hardmeyer
Hess
Hofmann
Kägi
Kaltbrunner
Kurz (1871, from Germany)
Nussbaumer

Schäppi
Uster
Vonrufs
Weinmann
Wirz
Wunderli
Wyder

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 February 2015, at 18:49.
  • This page has been accessed 448 times.