Escomb, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Escomb, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Escomb, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Escomb, Durham
Escomb Saxon Church St John Co Durham.jpg
Escomb Saxon Church St John Co Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Auckland
Registration District Auckland
Records begin
Parish registers: 1543
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Darlington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office


Parish History

ESCOMBE, a parochial chapelry, in the union of Auckland, N. W. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 1¾ mile (W.) from Bishop-Auckland The church is an ancient structure. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The parish registers from 1543 onwards are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL reference (EP/Es).

The Bishop's Transcripts collection held in the University of Durham Library Archives and Special Collections can be viewed free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The transcripts with gaps are held under reference DDR/EA/PBT/2/102 are for March 1765 - 1849. See seperate series of transcripts for Escomb in the St Nicholas Auckland transcripts May 1795 - 1803. There is also a transcript series in the Howe manuscript collection at University of Durham Library Archives and Special Collections reference HBT/31 for the year 25 March 1709 - 25 March 1710. Durham Bishop's Transcripts: The Howe Manuscript Collection

Due to the gaps in the Durham Bishop's Transcripts in most parishes in the post 1760 transcript collection it is advisable to search the original parish registers.

Non Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241352.

Poor Law Unions

Auckland Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Escomb on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 181-186. Date accessed: 17 July 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 01:42.
  • This page has been accessed 1,976 times.