Essex Church RecordsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Church Records

Contents

Significant County-wide Projects

England, Essex Parish Registers, 1538-1900: provided by FamilySearch Historical Records. To learn more about this record set review the Wiki article.

61,787 Essex entries are included in England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[1]

92% of Essex's parishes are indexed in Boyd's Marriage Index (£). Coverage. Popular places to marry included the towns of Bocking, Chelmsford, and Saffron Walden.[2]

23,400 Essex entries are included in England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[3]

Burials from 255 Essex places (793,723 entries) are included in the National Burial Index (£). Coverage.[4]

Essex County parish registers digitization project

  • Essex County Archivist is digitalizing parish registers county-wide and posting these images online. At the present time, this trend-setting project among just a few other counties, places numerous parishes and their church registers of christenings, marriages and burials currently for public access. As this is a work-in-progress, be certain to visit frequently if your parish is not yet available online. Here is their website link with search engine: http://seax.essexcc.gov.uk/

Essex Online Parish Clerk Project - church registers transcriptions online

  • Currently, Essex County has its own Online Parish Clerk project underway, albeit, a fledgling project at this time. Be sure to visit often and, even consider assisting in the transcribing of your parish. To determine availability, visit their excellent  website to determine online availability of your favourite parishes: http://essex-opc.org.uk/index.php?id=55

References

  1. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' British Origins, (Wayback Machine) accessed 31 August 2013.
  3. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 1 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:46.
  • This page has been accessed 2,215 times.