Etchilhampton, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Etchilhampton, Wiltshire)

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Etchilhampton, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Etchilhampton, Wiltshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Swanborough
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Devizes PLU
Registration District Devizes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1630; For more records see All Cannings
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Avebury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ETCHILHAMPTON, a chapelry, in the parish of Allcannings, union of Devizes, hundred of Swanborough, Devizes and N. divisions of Wilts, 3 miles (E. S. E.) from Devizes. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Etchilhampton, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Etchilhampton, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1885


IGI 1606-1885 1606-1895
NIM 1605-1840
1606-1837
1605-1837


Census records

The 1841 Census returns of Allcannings are missing; Etchilhampton belongs to this parish.


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 220986.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 186-191. Date accessed: 11 September 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2015, at 14:56.
  • This page has been accessed 1,701 times.