Etherley, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Etherley, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Etherley, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Etherley, Durham
High Etherley St Cuthbert Co Durham.jpg
High Etherley St Cuthbert Co Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Auckland
Registration District Auckland
Records begin
Parish registers: 1834
Bishop's Transcripts: 1834
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Darlington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office


Parish History

ETHERLEY, an ecclesiastical district, in the chapelry of St. Helen Auckland, parish of St. Andrew Auckland, N. W. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 3½ miles (S. W.) from Bishop-Auckland.[1]

Additional information: Etherley St Cuthbert was built in 1832 and was formed as a parish from Escomb, Durham and Auckland St Helen, Durham parishes.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/104 1834-1862 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1834-1939 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Eth).

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241352.

Poor Law Unions

Auckland Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 186-191. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 01:43.
  • This page has been accessed 2,095 times.