Ettrick, Selkirkshire, ScotlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Selkirkshire Gotoarrow.png Ettrick

Ettrick (#774)

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Ettrick.  To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.

Contents

History

ETTRICK, a parish, in the county of Selkirk, 18½ miles (S. W.) from Selkirk. The name, of uncertain origin, is supposed by some to be in the Gaelic language descriptive of the river on which Ettrick is situated. The church, situated nearly in the centre of the parish, was rebuilt upon a larger scale in 1824; it is a neat and handsome edifice, adapted for a congregation of about 450 persons.[1]


The New Statistical Account of Scotland
(pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/.  Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for Ettrick.  Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about Scotland Census Records.

Click here for a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Ettrick.

Below is information for any known surname indexes:

 

Years Surname Index           
1841 941.465/E1 X2m 1841
1851 941.465/E1 X2m 1851
1861 941.465/E1 X2m 1861
1871
1881 6086676 ( 2 fiche)
1891

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access indexes through the library.

 

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about Scotland Church Records.


Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Years Covered Family History Library Film Number
Births: 1693-1854 1067924 items 5-6
Marriages: 1693-1851 1067924 item 5-6
1819-1824, 1849-1854 1067925 item 1
Deaths: 1746-1820 1067924items 5-6
1816-1852 1067925 item 1

Condition of Original Registers—

Index: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index on computer at the Family History Library and family history centers.  Some records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index. 
Births: Intermixed with marriages and other matters until April 1709. One page of entries for 1710–1711 recorded after entries of marriage for October 1710. Mothers' names not recorded until 1707.
Marriages: Records are separate after May 1707. There is a duplicate record for 1710–1711 and 1816–1819.
Deaths: There is a duplicate record for 1816–1820.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.


Established Church—Kirk Session Records


The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

There are none.


Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

 


Ettrick Free Church

History—
In 1843 occasional supply was arranged for Ettrick and Yarrow. Not until after the Union with the Reformed Presbyterians, in 1876, was Ettrick recognized as a preaching station. The charge was sanctioned in 1880. Two churches, eight miles apart, and a manse were built.
Membership: 1881, 95; 1900, 104.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details may be given in the source.

Records—
Extent of records is unknown.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.

See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Ettrick was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Peebles until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Selkirk. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Selkirk and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Peebles.
The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Selkirk.  Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Selkirk and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 392-411. Adapted. Date accessed: 28 March 2014.

Return to the Selkirkshire parish list


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 March 2014, at 20:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,073 times.