Eve Hill, Worcestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Eve Hill, Worcestershire)

England go to Worcestershire go to Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Eve Hill, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records

Eve Hill, Worcestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Halfshire
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Dudley PLU
Registration District Dudley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: 1844
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kidderminster
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Churches at Evehill and Freebodies, in the parish, have been built on sites given by Lord Ward's trustees, by subscription, aided by a grant of £1000 from the Incorporated Society; they are neat edifices.[1]

Additional information:

Eve Hill St James the Great is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Worcestershire, created in 1844 from Dudley St Thomas, Worcestershire Ancient Parish.

Eve Hill is a residential area of Dudley in the West Midlands of England. It was part of Worcestershire until 1966 and briefly part of Staffordshire until 1974."[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Dudley St James the Great, Eve Hill was formed from Dudley St Thomas, Worcestershire; for earlier years refers to registers for the mother parish.

Dudley Archives has deposited Parish registers Bap 1844-1951 Marr 1844-1948 Bur 1844-1960 Microfilmed Bap 1844-1951 Marr 1844-1933 Bur 1844-1960

Coverage of the Dudley parishes in the International Genealogical Index for the microfilmed years of St Thomas and St Edmund's parishes is generally good for Baptism and Marriage records but may not include data for this parish and index entries for Dudley should be compared with the original record source to establish transcription errors or submission from individuals which may not be based on deposited records at Dudley Archives. It is also advisable to seek burial records from the burials registers which rarely fature in the indexed batches of the International Genealogical Index.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464207.


Poor Law Unions

Dudley Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England Wales, 1870. Date accessed and adapted: 06 October 2013.
  2. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eve_Hill Date Accessed: 30 March 2012
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry (Dudley St James Eve Hill)

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 May 2015, at 13:53.
  • This page has been accessed 1,820 times.