Evesham All Saints with St Lawrence, Worcestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Eversham All Saints with St Lawrence, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records

Evesham All Saints with St Lawrence, Worcestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Evesham
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Evesham
Registration District Evesham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Evesham St Lawrence beginning 1599
Bishop's Transcripts: 1613; Separate records exist for Evesham St Lawrence beginning 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Evesham
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Evesham
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office


Parish History

EVESHAM, a borough and market-town and the head of a union, locally in the Lower division of the hundred of Blackenhurst, E. division of the county of Worcester, 15 miles (S. E.) from Worcester, on the road to London, 13 miles (N. E.) from Tewkesbury, and 93¾ (N. W. by W.) from London. The borough includes the parishes of All Saints, St. Lawrence, and St. Peter Bengeworth, together with most of the surrounding villages, in the peculiar jurisdiction of the Abbot of Evesham. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, the Society of Friends, Wesleyans, and Unitarians.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464214.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 06 October 2013.

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Worcester Branch of the BMSGH - Evesham Non Conformists
Worcester Branch of the BMSGH - Evesham Civil Parish
 Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 May 2015, at 13:55.
  • This page has been accessed 3,494 times.