Eye, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Eye, Suffolk)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes

Guide to Eye, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Eye, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hartismere
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Hartismere PLU
Registration District Hartismere
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hartismere
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EYE, an ancient borough and irregularly built market town, occupies a low situation at the confluence of two rivulets, 8 miles N. of Debenham, 21 miles N. of Ipswich, 5$ miles S.S.E. of Diss, 8 miles E. by S. of Botesdale, and 90 miles N.E. of London. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. [1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

  • Eye in the FamilySearch Catalog

Civil Registration

Eye is in Hartismere district. To search an index of Hartismere district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Eye, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Eye, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1538-1753

NBI

1538-1900
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

There are census records available for Eye from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Eye Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.

Probate records

Prior to 1837 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Eye was the Archdeaconry of Sudbury; from 1837 to 1858 it was in the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District..  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other items.
  • National Gazetteers provide a brief description of each place
    • Vision of Britain
    • EYE (St. Peter and St. Paul), a borough, markettown, and parish, in the union, and locally in the hundred, of Hartismere, W. division of Suffolk, 20½ miles (N.) from Ipswich, and 89½ (N. E. by N.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. [5]


Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 195-206. Date accessed: 25 September 2013.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  5. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 195-206. Date accessed: 25 September 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 May 2015, at 19:14.
  • This page has been accessed 2,290 times.