FamilySearch Wiki:WikiProject Ohio Tasks-FamilySearch Church RecordsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WikiProject Ohio Gotoarrow.png Wiki Project Ohio Tasks - FamilySearch Church Records

Contents

Description

The purpose of this task is to add any historical probate records for Ohio counties found on FamilySearch Historical Records.

This task is an intermediate task and requires some knowledge about or experience with writing in wikitext.

New to the wiki?

  • See Help to request individual mentoring or to join community discussions.
  • See Editing Help – Online Video Demonstration.
  • See Editing Articles – Online Class

Questions about editing this project?


You may wish to print these instructions before you begin editing.
To Print:

  • Go to the top right-hand corner of the page within the the white area.
  • Locate the word Print or the icon of a printer. Click on the icon.
  • Print.

Instructions

1. Not all counties have records included in this task. Check the Assignment Chart below to choose a county to edit.

2. Sign up on the Assignment Chart to accept the task. Sign-up instructions are posted with the Assignment Chart below.

3. Click on your chosen county name in the Assignment Chart. This will take you to your county page.

4. Login to the FamilySearch wiki using your FamilySearch login name and password. Find the sign-in area in the top right-hand corner of the page.

5. Click on the Church section in the Contents.

6. On the right side of the heading, click on the edit button that looks like a pencil in a box. This takes you to the Editing of that section.

7. Click on the word wikitext with in toolbox at the top left side of the edit box.

8. Copy and paste the following record in chronological(date) order with what records are already on that page. Look for the ==== Church Records ==== heading. See if there is a heading already that looks like: ===== Catholic ===== and go ahead and copy and paste in chronological order under that existing heading. If there isn't an existing heading, copy and paste ===== Catholic ===== in the correct alphabetical order under the
==== Church Records ==== heading. Then place your cursor so that it is under the under the ===== Catholic ===== heading you just added, then hit enter on you keyboard so there is a blank line before adding this record:

:*'''1796–2004''' {{RecordSearch|1494476|Ohio, Diocese of Toledo, Catholic Parish Records, 1796-2004}} at [http://familysearch.org/ FamilySearch Historical Records] – free. This collection includes images of parish registers recording the events of baptism, first communion, confirmation, marriage, and death in the Diocese of Toledo (Ohio), Roman Catholic Church. These records are accessed by [[How to Navigate Browsable Images|browsing]] the images by county. In addition to traditional parish registers, this collection includes miscellaneous cemetery records, Books of the Elect, Professions of Faith, Sick Call registers, etc.<br>


9. Hit enter on your keyboard.

10. In the 'Summary:' box at the bottom of the page put: Adding Church records from Historical Records Collection

11. Click on the Save Page button.

  • If you have questions about editing, go to wiki help links under the heading Description.


12. Mark the Assignment Chart below to indicate you have finished the task.

13. Also, report your finished task on the Ohio FamilySearch Completed Task Google Form. Follow the instructions on the Google form. This step is important for documenting completed wiki volunteer work. Thank you!

Section Example

Church Records

  • 1796–2004 Ohio, Diocese of Toledo, Catholic Parish Records, 1796-2004 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection includes images of parish registers recording the events of baptism, first communion, confirmation, marriage, and death in the Diocese of Toledo (Ohio), Roman Catholic Church. These records are accessed by browsing the images by county. In addition to traditional parish registers, this collection includes miscellaneous cemetery records, Books of the Elect, Professions of Faith, Sick Call registers, etc.

Assignment Chart

Remember that NOT all counties have records included in this task. Check the Assignment Chart below to choose a county to edit. If you are accepting this task:

1. Sign in to the wiki at the upper right-hand corner of this page. Use your FamilySearch account username and password.
2. Open the Assignment Chart for editing by clicking on the check mark in the box at the right opposite the Assignment Table heading.
3. Place your cursor in the box under the heading Name/Date Task Accepted and opposite your county of choice. Not all counties have records included in this task. Choose from the counties listed in the table below.
4. Type 4 tildes (~). This symbol is located on the upper left-hand part of your keyboard, next to the number 1. The ~~~~ is an electronic signature and will leave your user name and date when you signed.
5. Scroll nearly to the bottom of the page. Add a summary sentence in the Summary box saying something like, "Selected Adams County for adding FamilySearch Vital Records".
6. Click on the box "Save Page".
7. You are now signed up to complete this task.
Return to Top of Page


If you are completing this task:

  • Follow the same instructions as accepting the task, except place your cursor in the correct county box under the heading Date Completed. Change your summary sentence to something like, "Completed Adams County for societies."  Thank you!
County Name/Date Task Accepted Date Completed
Allen Lowfiv 22:21, 1 March 2013 (UTC) Lowfiv 22:21, 1 March 2013 (UTC)
Crawford Lowfiv 03:23, 1 March 2013 (UTC) Lowfiv 03:39, 1 March 2013 (UTC)
Cuyahoga Lowfiv 03:39, 1 March 2013 (UTC) Lowfiv 03:44, 1 March 2013 (UTC)
Defiance Lowfiv 03:44, 1 March 2013 (UTC) Lowfiv 03:48, 1 March 2013 (UTC)
Erie Lowfiv 20:15, 1 March 2013 (UTC) Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC)
Fulton Lowfiv 20:15, 1 March 2013 (UTC) Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC)
Hancock Lowfiv 20:15, 1 March 2013 (UTC) Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC)
Henry Lowfiv 20:15, 1 March 2013 (UTC) Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC)
Huron Lowfiv 20:15, 1 March 2013 (UTC) Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC)
Lucas Lowfiv 20:15, 1 March 2013 (UTC) Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC)
Ottawa Lowfiv 20:15, 1 March 2013 (UTC) Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC)
Paulding Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC) Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC)
Putnam Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC) Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC)
Richland Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC) Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC)
Sandusky Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC) Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC)
Seneca Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC) Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC)
Van Wert Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC) Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC)
Williams Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC) Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC)
Wood Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC) Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC)
Wyandot Lowfiv 21:42, 1 March 2013 (UTC)


  • This page was last modified on 5 April 2013, at 22:51.
  • This page has been accessed 801 times.