Fauquier County, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Fauquier County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.

United States go to Virginia go to Fauquier County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Virginia
Online Records


Fauquier County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Fauquier County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Fauquier County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1758
County Seat Warrenton
Courthouse

Contents

Fauquier County Virginia Courthouse

Old Fauquier County Courthouse, Warrenton, Va.

Fauquier County Courthouse
40 Culpeper Street
Warrenton, Virginia 22186
Phone: 540-347-8610
Clerk Circuit Court has birth records from 1853-1896,
Death records 1853-1896 and 1912-1917,
Marriage, land and probate records from 1759,
Divorce Records from 1975 and military discharge records from 1944[1]

Beginning Dates for Fauquier County, Virginia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1853 1759 1853 1810 1759 1759

Fauquier County Virginia History

Lt. Gov. Francis Fauquier (1703-1768)

The county is named after Virginia Lieutenant-Governor Francis Fauquier (1703-1768).

Learn more.

Parent County

1758--Fauquier County was created 14 September 1758 from Prince William County.
County seat: Warrenton [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890

For a list of record loss in Virginia counties see: Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Fauquier County Virginia Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Fauquier County Virginia Genealogy Resources

Vafauquier.jpg

Getting Started

Compiled genealogies are a good place to start research for this area, see Fauquier County, Virginia Genealogy.

If you are researching families who lived in Fauquier County, Virginia between the 1750s and 1780s, the Sparacios' books are a great time saver. They comprehensively index several publications covering that period:

  • Sparacio, Ruth Trickey and Sam Sparacio. Surname Index of Antient Press Publications. 14+ vols. McLean, Va.: R. & S. Sparacio, Antient Press, 1993-. FHL Collection 975.5 P22s v. 1-2; publisher's website: Antient Press. (Some of the index volumes have not been printed and it is necessary to contact the publishers to search them.)

African American

In 1860, Fauquier County had the largest slave population in the state (10,455 slaves).[2]

Local expert Joan W. Peters published a useful guide for exploring African American roots in Fauquier County:

  • Peters, Joan W. Local Sources for African-American Family Historians: Using County Court Records and Census Returns. Broad Run, Virginia: J.W. Peters, 1993. Available at FHL.

Fauquier County, Virginia's Register of Free Negroes, 1817-1865, has been published twice:

  • Heinegg, Paul. "Fauquier Register of Free Negroes, 1817-1865," Free African Americans.com, available online.
  • Ibrahim, Karen King, Karen Hughes White, Courtney Gaskins, and Afro-American Historical Association of Fauquier County. Fauquier County, Virginia, Register of Free Negroes 1817-1865. Virginia?: K.K. Ibrahim, K.H. White, C. Gaskins, 1993. Available at FHL.

Additional resources:

  • Afro-American Historical Association of Fauquier County. Newsletter. Midland, Virginia: Afro-American Historical Association of Fauquier County, Virginia, 1992-2000. Available at FHL.
  • Duncan, Patricia B. 1850 Fauquier County, Virginia, Slave Schedule. Westminster, Maryland: Willow Bend Books, Heritage Books, 2003. Available at FHL.
  • Heinegg, Paul. "Fauquier County Personal Property Tax List 1786-1819," Free African Americans.com, available online. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872.

Research Guides

  • Peters, Joan W. Local Sources for African-American Family Historians: Using County Court Records and Census Returns. Broad Run, Va.: J.W. Peters, 1993. FHL.

Bible Records

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:

Additional Bible records include:

  • [Keith] Family Bible [Records, 1802-1922] of William Jones and Mary Isham Keith. FHL.
  • [Kemper] Kemper: Bible Records, 1769-1945. Microfilmed in 1977: FHL.

Cemeteries

• Along with a chronological history of Warrenton, sections group people according to their interests and careers: horse owners and trainers, volunteers, town merchants, fire department, restaurants, government, educators, construction, and other occupations. 118 Pages, Bibliography, Index, Paper, 1999. Details at Warrenton Cemetery

Census

For tips on accessing Fauquier County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.

Census Records Fauquier County

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 17,892
1800 21,329 19.2%
1810 22,689 6.4%
1820 23,103 1.8%
1830 26,086 12.9%
1840 21,897 −16.1%
1850 20,868 −4.7%
1860 21,706 4.0%
1870 19,690 −9.3%
1880 22,993 16.8%
1890 22,590 −1.8%
1900 23,374 3.5%
1910 22,526 −3.6%
1920 21,869 −2.9%
1930 21,071 −3.6%
1940 21,039 −0.2%
1950 21,248 1.0%
1960 24,066 13.3%
1970 26,375 9.6%
1980 35,889 36.1%
1990 48,741 35.8%
2000 55,139 13.1%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1820 Manufacturers Census

  • "1820 Manufacturers Census," Northern Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 2, No. 3 (Jul. 1997):125-126. FHL. [Includes Fairfax, Fauquier, and Loudoun counties.]

1890 Veterans Census

Church Records

Baptist

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Back Lick (1782).[3]
  2. Brent Town (1773).[3]
  3. Broad Run (1762).[3] Church minutes (1762-1872) have been published: FHL Book 975.5275 K2m[4]; see also Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 26, No. 4 (Nov. 1988) available at Ancestry ($). Edwards identifies a few early members and states some members of this congregation migrated to Pittsylvania County in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists... (1772).
  4. Carter's Run (1768).[3] The mother church. Edwards published a membership list dated 1742 in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists... (1772), 89-90. A history was published: Virginia Baptist Register, Issue 2 (1963).
  5. Goose Creek (1775), near Upperville, Va.[5] Records from 1775 to 1842 have been published: Northern Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 9 (2004): FHL Book 975.52 D25n v. 8-9 (2003-2004).
  6. Goose Creek (1799), Farrowsville, Va.[3]
  7. Long Branch (1786), near Halfway, Va.[3] A history, which includes church minutes and membership lists (1807-1868) has been published: FHL Book 975.5275 K2g.[6]
  8. Manor (by 1771).[7] Edwards published a membership list dated 1771 in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists... (1772), 39.
  9. Mill Creek (1772).[3]
  10. Thumb Run (1772), near Orlean, Va.[3] Notes (1810) have been published: Northern Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 5 (2000): FHL Book 975.52 D25n v. 5-7 (2000-2002).
  11. Upper Carter's Run (1784).[3] A history has been published: Virginia Baptist Register, Issue 29 (1990).

The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.

Fauquier County fell within the bounds of the Culpeper Association and the Ketocton Association.

  • Hoppin, C.A. "The Baptists of Fauquier County," Tyler's Quarterly Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 2, No. 1 (Jul. 1920):329-330. FHL Book 973 B2t 1967 v. 2 (1920-1921). Religious petition (perhaps dated 1775). Includes list of names of Baptists.
  • Kemper, Charles E. "The Baptists in Fauquier County, 1770-1771: Extracts from Peter Hitt's Account Book," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 35, No. 4 (Oct. 1927):390-392. Available at JSTOR ($).
Church of England
Lutheran
  • W.P. Huddle, Margaret G. Davis, Hebron Lutheran Church, and Mt. Nebo Lutheran Church. History of the Hebron Lutheran Church, Madison County, Virginia, 1717 to 1907. New Market, Va.: Henkel & Company, 1908. Available at FHL. [Germantown settlers belonged to this congregation.]
Presbyterian
  • Gott, John K., Daughters of the American Revolution. Washington-Lewis Chapter (Virginia), and Marshall Presbyterian Church (Marshall, Virginia). Abstracts of the Second Session Book of the Marshall Presbyterian Church, Marshall, Fauquier County, Virginia. MSS., 1957, available at FHL. [This church was organized in 1849 under the name Salem Presbyterian Church.]

Court

Minute Books Fauquier County, Virginia - Abstracts of Minute Books FQ. MB 01-93 1759-1761 FQ. MB 02-93 1761-1762 FQ. MB 03-93 1762-1763 FQ.MB 04-95 1763-1766 FQ.MB 05-95 1764-1766 The Antient Press
Chancery Court

  • Indexed images of Fauquier County, Virginia Chancery Records 1759-1919 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.

County Court

Fauquier County, Virginia Court of Records 1776-1782 - John K. Gott. Copies of the Minute Books are available on microfilm at the Fauquier County Public Library, Warrenton, or the Virginia State Library, Richmond. The original books are in various stages of deterioration and not available for public use. 1993, 180 pp. surname index, paper. Publisher's bookstore: Heritage Books ($).

Dumfries District Court and Superior Court of Law

  • Dumfries District Court Order Books, 1793-1817. Original records, Prince William County Courthouse, Manassas, Va.; available on microfilm at FHL. [Dumfries District Court encompassed Fairfax, Fauquier, Loudoun, and Prince William counties.]

Loose Papers

  • Peters, Joan W. "Researching the Fauquier County Clerk's Loose Papers," The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 27, No. 4 (Aug. 2001):1-4. Available at FHL; digital version at Virginia Genealogical Society website.

Superior Court of Chancery

The Superior Court of Chancery of Fredericksburg (1802-1831) had jurisdiction over certain Fauquier County court cases. An index has been compiled:

  • Indexes of Court Records in the Clerk's Office, Fredericksburg, Virginia, 1782-1904. Original records, Fredericksburg City Courthouse, Fredericksburg, Va., microfilmed reproduction available at FHL. [Indexes the following records: District Court law book v. 8, 1782-1792; District Court law books 1790-1793, v. A-F 1789-1811; Superior Court of Law law order books v. G-H 1812-1831; Superior Court of Chancery chancery order books 1814-1831; Hustings Court orders v. A-O 1782-1871; Circuit Superior Court of Law and Chancery law order books v. A-E 1831-1875; Circuit Superior Court of Law and Chancery chancery order books v. A-D 1831-1872; Circuit Court chancery order books v. A2, B-C 1875-1904; Fredericksburg District Court (1789-1808) had jurisdiction over the following counties: Spotsylvania (including Fredericksburg), Caroline, King George, Stafford, Orange, and Culpeper; Superior Court of Chancery (1802-1831) had jurisdiction over the following localities: city of Fredericksburg and the counties of Caroline, Culpeper, Fauquier, Fairfax, Lancaster, Northumberland, Madison, King George, Orange, Prince William, Richmond, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Essex, and Westmoreland.]

DNA

DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Fauquier County, Virginia residents. Attempts have not been made to verify the lineages of those tested.

  • [Barton] Multiple descendants of David Barton, b. c1730 Stafford County, Virginia, resident of Fauquier County, Virginia. Y-DNA Tests, FTDNA (labelled Lineage I, The Virginia Branch (provides IDs of David's descendants' samples). Genetic signatures available online, courtesy: The Barton DNA Project, World Families Network.
  • [Barton] Descendant of Kimber Barton, b. 1746 Bucks County, Pennsylvania, resident of Fauquier County, Virginia. (labelled F-22, Lineage VIII). Genetic signatures available online, courtesy: The Barton DNA Project, World Families Network.
  • [Carter] Descendants of Isaac Carter, born about 1773, died abt 1850 Fauquier County, Virginia, Y-DNA 67 markers tested. Results at Carter Y-DNA Project.
  • [Fletcher] Multiple descendants of Moses Fletcher, b. c1725, d. aft. 1797 Fauquier County, Virginia. Y-DNA 12, 25, and 37 Marker Tests, FTDNA. Genetic signatures available online, courtesy: The Fletcher DNA Project.
  • [Harrison] Descendant of Burr Harrison, b. 1637 St. Margaret's Parish, Westminster, Middlesex, England, d. 1697 Westmoreland County, Virginia. Y-DNA 37 Marker Test, FTDNA (labelled H-63, Lineage 22). Genetic signature available online, courtesy: The Harrison DNA Project, World Families Network. [Ancestor of many Harrison families of Northern Neck and neighboring counties, including: Fauquier, Loudoun, Prince William, and Stafford.]
  • [Waddell] Descendant of John Waddell, b. c1724, d. of Fauquier County, Virginia. Y-DNA Test, FTDNA (not clearly identified, contact interested researchers listed on Patriarch page for more information.) Genetic signature available online, courtesy: The Waddell DNA Project, World Families Network.


Funeral Homes

Funeral Homes in Fauquier and Loudoun Counties, Virginia
Joynes Funeral Home
phone 540-347-3331
29 N. Third St.
Warrenton, VA 20188
established since 1938

Moser Funeral Home, Inc.
phone 540-347-3431
233 Broadview Ave.
Warrenton, VA 20188
established since 1836

Colonial Funeral Home of Leesburg Inc.
(formerly Muse & Reed)
phone 703-777-1414
201 Edwards Ferry Rd., N.E.
Leesburg, VA 20176
established since 1877

Loudoun Funeral Chapel
phone 703-777-6000 or 1-800-761-5057
158 Catoctin Circle, S.E.
Leesburg, VA

Royston Funeral Homes, Inc.
phone 540-687-5400 Middleburg, VA
phone 540-364-1731 Marshall, VA

Genealogy

More than 325 genealogies have been published about Fauquier County families. To view a list, visit Fauquier County, Virginia Genealogy.

Historic Residences

  • Gott, John K. Flint Hill Farm: A History, George Washington's "Tract on Chattins Run," Rectortown, Fauquier County, Virginia. Athens, Georgia: New Papyrus Pub. Co., 2004. Available at FHL.
  • United States. Work Projects Administration (Virginia). Old Homes and Families of Fauquier County, Virginia: (The W.P.A. Records). Compiled in 1930s. Berryville, Virginia: Virginia Book Co., 1978. Available at FHL.
John Marshall Chief Justice
:John Marshall born in Fauquier County, Virginia
:John Marshall - Who Served Here?

Immigration

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes will of a resident of Fauquier County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
  • Holtzclaw, B.C. and Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia. Ancestry and Descendants of the Nassau-Siegen Immigrants to Virginia, 1714-1750. Harrisonburg, Virginia: Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia, 1964. Available at FHL.
  • During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 6 British aliens, many of whom had families, living in Fauquier County.[8]

Land and Property

Early settlers maps are available for Fauquier County. Cartographer plots the locations of pioneer tracts. The Family History Library has copies: FHL Map 975.52 E7p and FHL Map 975.5275 E7s.

Fairfax Grant

Grants and Patents

Land Causes

  • Joyner, Peggy Shomo. "Northern Neck Warrants & Surveys Dunmore, Shenandoah, Culpeper, Prince William, FAUQUIER Stafford Counties 1710-1780. Volume III"197 pages.
  • Sparacio, Ruth Trickey, Sam Sparacio, and Dumfries, Va. District Court. Abstracts of Land Causes, Prince William County, Virginia. [1789-1793] 2 vols. McLean, Va.: Antient Press, 1992. Available at FHL. [Includes Fauquier County.]
  • Wilson, Donald L. "Prince William County Land Causes," [1789-1793] The Newsletter of the Prince William County Genealogical Society, Vol. 3, No. 2 (Aug. 1984):5-7; Vol. 3, No. 7 (Jan. 1985):3-6; Vol. 3, No. 10 (Apr. 1985):6-7; Vol. 3, No. 12 (Jun. 1985):6-7; Vol. 4, No. 1 (Jul. 1985):4-6; Vol. 4, No. 2 (Aug. 1985):3-4; Vol. 4, No. 3 (Sep. 1985):5-7; Vol. 4, No. 7 (Jan. 1986):4-6; Vol. 4, No. 9 (Mar. 1986):3-4; Vol. 4, No. 10 (Apr. 1986):5-7; Vol. 4, No. 12 (Jun. 1986):5-7; Vol. 5, No. 1 (Jul. 1986):5-7; Vol. 5, No. 3 (Sep. 1986):6-9; Vol. 5, No. 6 (Dec. 1986):5-6; Vol. 5, No. 10 (Apr. 1987):5-7. Available at FHL.
  • Deeds
  •  Gott, John K. "Fauquier County, Virginia Deed Abstracts 1778-1785" Abstracts of all the docucments found in the first six deed books. It includes a wide variety of records such as leases, bonds, contracts of sale such as leases, bonds, contracts of sale, mortgages, agreements and deeds. Each abstract gives the names of all grantors and grantees, and any other individuals mentioned. 1992, index, paper, G578
  • "Fauquier County, Virginia Deed Book No. 9 1785-1787"
  • "Fauquier County, Virginia Deed Book No. 10 1788-1792"
  • TLC Genealogy

Local Histories

  • Evans, M. Louise and Charles F. Knox. An Old Timer in Warrenton and Fauquier County, Virginia. Warrenton, Virginia: Virginia Pub., 1955. Available at FHL.
  • Fauquier County Bicentennial Committee. Fauquier County, Virginia, 1759-1959. Warrenton, Virginia: Fauquier County Bicentennial Committee, 1959. Available at FHL. [Includes two lists of early marriage bonds and soldiers in the Revolution.]
  • Fauquier County (Va.). Board of Trade and Harry Connelly Groome. Fauquier County, Virginia: Historical Notes. Warrenton, Va.: Board of Trade, 1914. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books (full-view).
  • Fauquier Heritage and Preservation Foundation, Inc. Fauquier Heritage and Preservation News: A Publication of the Fauquier Heritage and Preservation Foundation Inc. Marshall, Virginia: Fauquier Heritage and Preservation Foundation, Inc., 2002-present. Available at FHL.
  •   Gott, John K. "Flint Hill Farm A History", 2004, 128 pages, index, paper, -9749929-1-7 New Papyrus  Publishing
  • Gott, John K. "High In Old Virginia's Piedmont - A History of Marshall" (formerly Salem), Fauquier County, Virginia. pp.216.
  • Gott, John K. and Evans, Anne Train Whistles and Hunting Horns The History of the Plains, Virginia1994. pp 106.
  • Gott, John K & Russell, T. Triplett "The Dixon Valley It's First 250 Years"
  • Gott, John K &  Ramey, EmilyG "The Year of Anguish Fauquier County, Virginia 1861-1865" Copyright 1965 All rights reserved.
  • Groome, H.C. Fauquier During the Proprietorship: A Chronicle of the Colonization and Organization of a Northern Neck County. Richmond: Old Dominion Press, 1927. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5275 H2g 1969; digital book available at Ancestry ($);Heritage Quest Online ($); and World Vital Records ($). [2 copies at FHL.]
  • Hackley, Woodford B., B.C. Holtzclaw, and Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia. Germantown Revived. Harrisonburg, Virginia: Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia, 1962. Available at FHL.
  • Hepner, Cheryl. "Old Homes and families of Fauquier County, Virginia": (the W.P.A. records), published Berryville, Virginia., 1978
  • Huffman, Charles Herbert and Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia. The Story of Germanna Descendants in Reunion at Siegen Forest, Virginia. [Harrisonburg, Virginia: Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia, 1957- 1972?]. Available at FHL.
  • Hunder, Alexander. "The Women of the Debatable Land" Kannikat Press, Port Washington, NY 1972 reprint of original Cobden Pub 1912. The region comrpises the counties of Fairfax, Prince William, Culpeper, and Fauquier County, Virginia.
  • McCarty, Clara S. "The Foothills of the Blue Ridge in Fauquier County, Virginia", (Warrenton, Va: Fauquier Democrat, 1974). WLU Rare F232.F3.
  • Moffett, Lee "The Diary of Court House Square: Warrenton, Virginia U.S.A. From Early Times Through 1986, with 1987-1995 Reflections,"  Revised Edition - The history set forth in this valuable text begins in the 1600's with the region's native inhabitants and European settlers, and chronicales events through the recents years - a gold mine of information about Court House Square in Warrenton, Virginia. #M522.
  • Smith, P.A.L. and A. Maxim Coppage. Boyhood Memories of Fauquier. Owensboro, Kentucky: Cook & McDowell Publications, 1980, c1979. Available at FHL.
  • Vann, Elizabeth Chapman Denny and Margaret Collins Denny Dixon. Virginia's First German Colony. Richmond, Virginia: n.p., 1961. Available at FHL.
  • Wayland, John W., Charles Herbert Huffman, and Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia. Germanna, Outpost of Adventure, 1714-1956. Culpeper, Virginia: Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies, 1989. Available at FHL.

Maps

  • Chappelear, B. Curtis EDq. "Maps and Notes Of Upper Fauquier County, Virginia" The Warrenton Antiquarian Society, Warrenton, Virginia. 1954 pp about 110.
    * Palmer, Meade and B. Curtis Chappelear. Historical Map of the Northern Portion of Fauquier County and a Part of Loudoun County, Virginia. 1953; reprint, 198-?. Original edition available at FHL; 1980s reprint at FHL.
  • Scheel, Eugene M. "Fauquier County, Commonwealth of Virginia. n.p.: Fauquier National Bank and E.M. Scheel, 1985. Available at FHL. [Features include "old roads, mills, stores, plantations, churches, ruins, cemeteries, battles, historic sites, early stream names and boundaries."[9]]
  • [1664] Virginia, Old Stafford County, Established 1664. Concord, California: Tackitt Photographic, n.d. Available at FHL. [Old Stafford County originally covered the area of the counties of Fairfax, Fauquier, Loudoun, Prince William, and Stafford.]
  • [1759] 1759 Bertrand Ewell's Survey of the Fauquier-Prince William Boundary Line April 14, 1759, available online. [Includes names of residents.]
  • Groome, Harry Connelly. Fauquier County, Virginia, Historical Notes: Published as a Supplement to the Map of Fauquier County. Warrenton, Virginia: n.p., 1914. Available at FHL.
  • [1776] Scheel, Eugene M. A New and Accurate Map of the County of Fauquier, Virginia 1776. Falls Church, Virginia: Fauquier Historical Society, n.d. Available at FHL.

Migration

  • Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1976):199-208. Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Fauquier County's 1787 Delinquent List appears on pp. 124-126.]

Military

General
  • Peters, Joan W. Military Records, Certificates of Service, Discharge, Heirs, & Pensions Declarations and Schedules: From the Fauquier County, Virginia Court Minute Books, 1784-1840. Westminster, Maryland: Willow Bend Books, 1999. Available at FHL.
  • Peters, Joan W. Military Records, Patriotic Service, & Public Service Claims: From the Fauquier County, Virginia Court Minute Books 1759-1784. Westminster, Maryland: Willow Bend Books, 1999. Available at FHL.
  • Peters, Joan W. Military Records, Pensions Applications, Heirs, At Law and Civil War Military Records: From Fauquier County, Virginia Court Minute Books 1840-1904. Westminster, Maryland: Willow Bend Books, 1999. Available at FHL.
  • Peters, Joan W. Neglected & Forgotten: Fauquier County, Virginia, French & Indiana War, Revolutionary War, & War of 1812 Veterans; Muster Rolls, Pension Lists, Declarations & Certificates, Land Warrants, Heirs at Law, Court Martials, from the Military Record Series of the Fauquier County, Virginia, Clerks Loose Papers, 1759-1825. Bowie, Maryland: Heritage Books, 2004. Available at FHL.
French and Indian War
  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Fauquier County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.]
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books. [Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Fauquier County, see p. 108.]
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Ancestry ($). [Identifies some Fauquier County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.]
Revolutionary War

Regiments. Service men in Fauquier County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Fauquier County supplied soldiers for the:

- 3rd Virginia Regiment
- 10th Virginia Regiment

Additional resources:

Fauquier residents recommended for military commissions during the Revolutionary War.[10]

  • Fauquier County Bicentennial Committee. Fauquier County, Virginia, 1759-1959. Warrenton, Virginia: Fauquier County Bicentennial Committee, 1959. Available at FHL. [Includes two lists of early marriage bonds and soldiers in the Revolution.]
  • Abercrombie, Janice L., Slatten.  Virginia Publick Claims Athens, Ga. Iberian {49 pages VA76]
  • Pierce, Alycon Trubey. "Wringing Northern Virginians Out of Final Pension Payment Vouchers, 1818-1864," Northern Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 2, No. 2 (Apr. 1997):73-77. Available at FHL. [Identifies married daughters and granddaughters of Revolutionary War Pensioners, and other persons mentioned in these records. Pierce abstracted entries for residents of Fairfax, Fauquier, Loudoun, and Prince William counties.]
  • Russell, Thomas Triplett and John K. Gott. Fauquier County in the Revolution. Westminster, Maryland: Heritage Books, 1997. Available at FHL.
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Fauquier County on page 130.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
War of 1812

War of 1812 in Virginia

Fort Meigs Ohio War of 1812 Battlefield - Fauquier Men Fought and Died here

Fauquier Militiamen in the War of 1812

Fauquier County men served in the 44th and 85th Regiments.[11]

List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Fauquier County, p. 79. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Fauquier County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Fauquier County, Virginia:

- 4th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate)
- 6th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company H (The Wise Dragoons).[12]
- 7th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Ashby's) (Confederate). Company A (Fauquier Mountain Rangers) was presumably from Fauquier County.[13]
- 8th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (Piedmont Rifles) and Company K (Scott's Company).[14]
- 11th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate).[15]
- 49th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Flint Hill Rifles) (Markham Guards) and Company H (Fauquier Guards).[16]
- 60th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (3rd Regiment, Wise Legion) (Confederate). Company F (The James River Rifles).[17]

Records and histories are available, including:

  • Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
  • Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
  • Great Pictures of the Civil War
  • Andrus, Michael J. The Brooke, Fauquier, Loudoun and Alexandria Artillery(Lynchburg, Va: H.E.Howard, Inc.).
  • Chappelear, Nancy Baird. "Journals of Amanda Virginia Edmonds: lass of the Mosby Confederacy," 1859-1867. Stephens City, Virginia, Commercial Press. 282 pages.
  •   Glasgow, William M. Jr.,  "Northern Virginia's Own" William M. Glasgow Jr. , Globill Press, P O Box 571, Alexandria, Virginia 22313. pp. 465
  •   Gott, John K., Emily G. Ramey, and Fauquier County Civil War Centennial Committee. The Years of Anguish, Fauquier County, Virginia, 1861-1865. Annandale, Virginia: Bacon Race Books, 1987. Available at FHL.
  • SCHEEL, Eugene M "The Civil War in Fauquier County, Virginia" The Fauquier National Bank,Jun 1985, pp 121.
Civil War Battles

The following Civil War battles were fought in Fauquier County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865

Naturalization

Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929

Newspapers

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Fauquier County, Virginia newspapers.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

  • 1817-1820 - Palladium of Liberty (Warrenton, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
  • 1907-present - Fauquier Democrat Newspaper Index 1907 to present is available at the local government site.

Current issues of the Fauquier Times-Democrat are online.

  • 2001-present - The Fredericksburg Free Lance Star carries many articles about people from Fauquier: 2001 to present, see: Fredericksburg site.

Historical issues of the Free Lance Star and the Washington Post (turn of the century to present) are at Google News.

Occupations

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Warrenton silversmiths.]
  • "Warrenton Directory, 1844-1847," [Attorneys, Physicians, Dentists, Druggists, and Merchants] The Newsletter of the Prince William County Genealogical Society, Vol. 3, No. 1 (Jul. 1984). Available at FHL. [Taken from the Fauquier Democrat special section for the Bicentennial Thursday, April 30, 1959, page E-8.]
  • "Directory of Fauquier Professional Men in 1851," [Attorneys, Physicians, and Hotel Keepers] The Newsletter of the Prince William County Genealogical Society, Vol. 3, No. 1 (Jul. 1984). Available at FHL. [Taken from the Fauquier Democrat--Special section for the Bicentennial Thursday, April 30, 1959, page E-8.]
  • Moffett, Lee. Water Powered Mills of Fauquier County, Virginia. Warrenton, Virginia: M.J. Moffett, 1972.

Private Papers

  • [Edmonds] Chappelear, Amanda Virginia Edmonds and Nancy Chappelear Baird. Journals of Amanda Virginia Edmonds: Lass of the Mosby Confederacy, 1859-1867. Delaplane, Virginia: N.C. Baird, 1984. Available at FHL.
  • [Ficklin] Collection of Papers from Culpeper Co., VA: Dealing with the Payne, Tull, Stewart, Ficklin and Related Families, 1848-1859. Original documents, includes papers from Fauquier County, available at FHL.
  • [Howison] Laws, Mary Jackson Howison. Journal of Mary Jackson Howison, 1858-1870. Lamesa, Texas: M.G. Beckham, 1985. Available at FHL.

Probate Records

Local Court

  • Gott, John K. Abstracts of Fauquier County Virginia, Wills Inventories and Accounts 1759-1800. Baltimore, Maryland: Clearfield, 1999. Digital book available at Ancestry ($).
  • Gott, John K. Fauquier County, Virginia Guardian Bonds, 1759-1871 Abstracted from the original bonds, where extant and from the Minute Books otherwise. The abstracts include names of guardinas, orphans deceased parents of orphans, value of the estates of the wards, securities, witnesses, etc. [1989, 139 pp., index, paper]
    • King, Junie Estelle Stewart. Abstracts of Wills, Administrations, and Marriages of Fauquier County, Virginia, 1759-1800. 2001. Available at FHL. Digital book available at Ancestry($); and World Vital Records ($).
    • Peters, Joan. Local Records and Genealogy A Primer for Family HistoriansAlbemarle Press, P.O. Box 144, [Broad Run, Virginia 22014]
  • Roberts, Eunice Byram. Oklahoma Genealogical Records. D.A.R. Library, Washington, D.C. Available at FHL. [Includes a few Maddux wills from Fauquier County, Virginia.]

London Courts

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes will of a resident of Fauquier County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]

Taxation

How can Virginia tax lists help me?

  • [1751] "A List of Taxpayers for Hamilton Parish, 1751," The Newsletter of the Prince William County Genealogical Society, Vol. 10, No. 6 (Dec. 1991):43-45. Available at FHL. [Taken from the Account Book of Captain John Crump, Sheriff of Prince William County. "The original book was presented to the Fauquier Historical Society in 1922, by Col. Malcolm H. Crump, Bowling Green, Kentucky," but has since been misplaced.]
  • [1759] T.L.C. Genealogy. Fauquier County, Virginia, Tax List of 1759. Miami, Florida: TLC Genealogy, 1998?. Available at FHL.
  • [1759] Tithables List, 1759, Northern Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 2, No. 2 (Apr. 1997). Available at FHL.
  • [1759-1783] Alcock, John P. Fauquier Families, 1759-1799. 2 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1994, 2001. Available at FHL. [Vol. 1. Comprehensive indexed abstracts of tax and tithable lists. Vol. 2 contains tithable and personal property tax lists 1759-1783.]
  • [1759-1782] Peters, Joan W. The Tax Man Cometh: Land and Property in Colonial Fauquier County, Virginia: Tax List from the Fauquier County Court Clerk's Loose Papers, 1759-1782. Westminster, Maryland: Willow Bend Books, 1999. Available at FHL.
  • [1777] "Tenants of the Manor of Leeds, Fauquier County - 1777," in King, Junie Estelle Stewart, Abstracts of Wills, Administrations, and Marriages of Fauquier County, Virginia, 1759-1800. 2001. Digital book available at Ancestry ($).
  • [1782-1850] Fauquier County, Virginia Personal Property Tax Lists, 1782-1850. Available at FHL.
  • [1782] Fothergill, Augusta B. and John Mark Naugle. Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1978. Available at FHL. [1782 personal property tax list of Fauquier County.]
  • [1782] Tax List, 1782, Genealogical Reference Builders Newsletter, Vol. 12, No. 1 (1982). Available at FHL.
  • [1783-1791] Sparacio, Ruth Trickey and Sam Sparacio. Fauquier County, Virginia Land Tax Books [1783-1791]. 2 vols. McLean, Virginia: Antient Press, 1997. Available at FHL.
  • [1785-1786] Interust Warrants, 1785-86, Genealogical Tips, Vol. 5, No. 2 (Aug. 1967). Available at FHL.
  • [1786-1819] Heinegg, Paul. "Fauquier County Personal Property Tax List 1786-1819," Free African Americans.com, available online. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • [1787] Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Fauquier County is included in Vol. 1.]
  • [1787] Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1976):199-208. Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Fauquier County's 1787 Delinquent List appears on pp. 124-126.]
  • [1790, 1799] Indexed images of the 1790 and 1799 Personal Property Tax Lists of Fauquier County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • [1800] Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 3 (Jul. 1976); Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct. 1976); Vol. 21, No. 1 (Jan. 1977); Vol. 21, No. 2 (Apr. 1977); Vol. 21, No. 3 (Jul. 1977); Vol. 21, No. 4 (Oct. 1977). Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($).
  • [1815] Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [This source is based on the 1815 land tax. Fauquier County is included in Vol. 4.]
  • [1853] Tax List, 1853, Afro-American Historical Association of Fauquier County, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Jan. 1993). Available at FHL.
  • [1880] Tax List, 1880, Marion County Historical Society Quarterly, Vol. 7, No. 3 (Spring 1998). Available at FHL.
  • Tithes and Personal Property Taxes of Free Negroes, Afro-American Historical Association of Fauquier County Annual Publication, Issue 1 (1996). Available at FHL.
  • Deed Book 9, Taxables, Genealogical Tips, Vol. 1, No. 1 (May 1963). Available at FHL.

Vital Records

Indexes to Fauquier County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

Birth

The birth registers of Fauquier County, Virginia have been published multiple times:

  • 1853-1860 - Fauquier County Birth Index 1853-1860. Batch C868800 at FamilySearch - free.[24]
  • 1853-1896 - Fauquier County Birth Index 1853-1896. Batch C868799 at FamilySearch - free.[24]
  • 1853-1896 - Buck, Dee Ann Shipp. Fauquier County, Virginia, Birth Registry, 1853-1896. Fairfax, Virginia: D.A. Buck, 1996. Available at FHL.
  • 1853-1896 - Duncan, Patricia B. Fauquier County, Virginia Birth Register, 1853-1896. 2 vols. Westminster, Maryland: Heritage Books, 2008. Available at FHL.
  • 1853-1896 - Peters, Joan W. Abstracts of Fauquier County, Virginia Birth Records 1853 - 1896. Bowie, Maryland: Heritage Books, 1989. Available at FHL.

Microfilmed reproductions of the original records are also available at the Family History Library:

  • Fauquier County, Virginia Birth and Death Registers, 1853-1896. Original records. Available at FHL.
Marriage
  • 1660-1800 - Virginia Marriages 1660-1800 (Ancestry) ($).
  • 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
  • 1759-1790s - Crozier, William Armstrong. Early Virginia Marriages. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1953. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Includes Fauquier County marriages 1759-1790s.
  • 1759-1786 - Early Fauquier County Marriage Bonds (The USGenWeb Archives) - free.
  • 1759-1790 - "Marriage Bonds in Fauquier County," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 12, No. 4 (Apr. 1904):256-258. Digital version at JSTOR - free.
  • 1759-1820 - Fauquier County Marriage Index 1759-1820. Batch M868796 at FamilySearch - free.[24]
  • 1759-1854 - Chappelear, Nancy and John K. Gott. Early Fauquier County, Virginia Marriage Bonds, 1759-1854. Washington, D.C.: N. Chappelear and J.K. Gott, 1965. FHL.
  • 1759-1854 - Gott, John K. Fauquier County, Virginia Marriage Bonds (1759-1854) and Marriage Returns (1785-1848). 1989. FHL.
  • 1759-1800 - King, Junie Estelle Stewart, Abstracts of Wills, Administrations, and Marriages of Fauquier County, Virginia, 1759-1800. 2001. FHL. Digital versions at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($).
  • 1759-1854 - Ricks, Joel. Fauquier County, Virginia, Marriage Bonds 1759 to 1854. 1939. FHL.
  • 1820-1849 - Fauquier County Marriage Index 1820-1849. Batch M868798 at FamilySearch - free.[24]
  • 1849-1853 - Fauquier County Marriage Index 1849-1853. Batch M868795 at FamilySearch - free.[24]
  • 1854-1906 - Fauquier County Marriage Index 1854-1906. Batch M868797 at FamilySearch - free.[24]
  • 1854-1896 - Buck, Dee Ann Shipp. Fauquier County, Virginia, Marriages [1854-1896]. 2 vols. Fairfax, Va.: D.A. Buck, 1996. FHL.
  • Ames, Mildred S. "Fauquier County, Virginia Marriage Returns (not Bonds)" Ogden, Utah 84404. 1965, pp 80.
  • Fauquier County Bicentennial Committee. Fauquier County, Virginia, 1759-1959. Warrenton, Virginia: Fauquier County Bicentennial Committee, 1959. FHL. [Includes two lists of early marriage bonds and soldiers in the Revolution.]
Divorce

Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records from 1831[1]

Death

Fauquier County, Virginia deaths are included in the Library of Virginia's Death Index of Virginia, 1853-1896, sponsored by The Virginia Genealogical Society, available online - free.

The death registers of Fauquier County, Virginia have also been published:

  • 1853-1896 - Fauquier County Death Index 1853-1896. Batch B868800 at FamilySearch - free.[24]
  • 1853-1896 - Buck, Dee Ann Shipp. Fauquier County, Virginia, Death Registry, 1853-1896. Fairfax, Virginia: D.A. Buck, 2001. Available at FHL.
  • 1853-1896 - Duncan, Patricia B. Fauquier County, Virginia, Death Register, 1853-1896. Westminster, Maryland: Willow Bend Books, 1998. Available at FHL.

Microfilmed reproductions of the original records are also available at the Family History Library:

  • Fauquier County, Virginia Birth and Death Registers, 1853-1896. Original records. Available at FHL Film 31637.
Vital Record Substitutes

The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available for free online. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.

Fauquier County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Virginiana Room, Fauquier County Public Library, has many local resources and some online indexes.

Fauquier Historical Society

Fauquier Heritage Society, P O Box 548, Marshall, Virginia 22115

Prince William County, Virginia Library

Southern Fauquier Historical Society, Inc

Family History Centers

Fauquier County Virginia Genealogy Websites

Fauquier County Virginia Genealogy References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fauquier County, Virginia. Page 713 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1872), 70. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 3.6 3.7 3.8 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 229-230, 386-387. Digital version at Google Books.
  4. Broad Run Baptist Church (Fauquier County, Virginia). "Minutes of the Broad Run Baptist Church near Warrenton, Fauquier County, Virginia 1762 - 1872," Genealogical Record, Vol. 7, No. 3 (Sep. 1965) to Vol. 9, No. 4 (Dec. 1967). Houston, Texas: Houston Genealogical Forum, 1965-1967. Available at FHL Book 975.5275 K2m.
  5. Fauquier County, Virginia, 1759-1959 (Warrenton, Va.: Fauquier County Bicentennial Committee, 1959), 87-88. FHL Book 975.5275 H2f.
  6. John K. Gott, Wayland F. Dunaway, C. Wirt Trainham and Long Branch Baptist Church, History of Long Branch Baptist Church, Fauquier County, Virginia: from Centennial History by Rev. Wayland F Dunaway and Sesquicentennial History by Rev. C. Wirt Trainham (Richmond, Va.: Williams Printing Co., 1967). FHL Book 975.5275 K2g.
  7. Morgan Edwards, Materials Towards a History of the Baptists in the Provinces of Maryland Virginia North Carolina South Carolina Georgia (1772). Digitized by SCDL Collections - free.
  8. Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  9. "Historic Prince William Sponsors New Historic Map by Eugene Scheel," The Newsletter of the Prince William County Genealogical Society, Vol. 10, No. 2 (Aug. 1991):10.
  10. J.T. McAllister, Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data (Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co., 1913), 30-31. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  11. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 82. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  12. Michael P. Musick, 6th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 66.
  13. Richard L. Armstrong, 7th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 88.
  14. John E. Divine, 8th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1983). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 6.
  15. Robert T. Bell, 11th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 20.
  16. Richard B. Kleese, 49th Virginia Infantry (Appomattox, Va.: H.E. Howard, 2002). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 138.
  17. J.L. Scott, 60th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 130.
  18. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  19. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  20. Heritage Preservation Services,Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)
  21. Heritage Preservation Services,Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)
  22. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August 2012).
  23. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  24. 24.0 24.1 24.2 24.3 24.4 24.5 24.6 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 March 2014, at 15:41.
  • This page has been accessed 69,965 times.