Feda, Vest-Agder, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Feda, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Church RecordsKvinesdal (Liknes) Clerical District.
Kvinesdal clerical district contains priest and sexton records from the parishes Kvinesdal (Liknes), Feda, Hægebostad, Eiken (Egen) and Fjotland. The combined Kvinesdal clerical district was in 1753 divided into 1) Nedre Kvinesdal (now Kvinesdal) and 2) Øvre Kvinesdal (now Hægebostad) with the parishes Hægebostad, Eiken and Fjotland. Fjotland was again annexed to Kvinesdal clerical district from 1841 to 1857.
Original records are found online at Digitalarkivet.
Kvinesdal / Feda: 1815-1934;
- The church books for Feda have been transcribed for the years 1710-1788.
- An index has also been created for the Feda Bygdebok, by Ånen Årli. It is arranged by first name.
- 1664-1666: Kvinesdal clerical district
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. Original manuscript on microfilm.
- 1664-1666: Kvinesdal clerical district
This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete. Original manuscript on microfilm.
- 1663-1666: Manntall 1663-66 for Lister prosti II Database at Digitalarkivet.
The 1801 census (b. 36) for Kvinesdal clerical district includes Feda and Kvinesdal parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Original manuscript on microfilm.
- 1801: 1801-telling for 1037 Lechnes Database at Digitalarkivet.
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Original manuscript on microfilm.
- 1865: 1865-telling for 1037 Kvinesdal Database at Digitalarkivet.
This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscript on microfilm.
This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscript on microfilm.
- 1900: 1900-telling for 1038 Fede Database at Digitalarkivet.
- 1910: Folketellingen 1910
An index has also been created for the Feda Bygdebok, by Ånen Årli. It is arranged by first name.
The Family History Library has the Feda Bygdebok titled Feda, gards- og slektshistorie, by Ånen Årli. It is a genealogy and history of the people and farms in Feda community in Vest-Agder county, which was published in 1980.
A three volume set entitled Kvinesdal, ei bygdebok is also available. It contains genealogy of the farm owners and local history.
The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
11 Birkeland 29 Dalen nedre 10 Fede 18 Fosseland 5 Frøitland 3 Gjeiskeli 26 Haaland 9 Hangeland 21 Haugeland 7 Høiland 10 Kleivan 38 Lande nedre 16 Lien 22 Lillehavn 13 Linland 12 Linlandstranden 4 Lone med Loneskar 23 Lunkenskaar 17 Løgen 2 Meland lille 20 Neset 27 Nygaard eller Tangen 37 Oppofte 6 Raustad 8 Refstien 33 Rørvig lille 14 Sande 30 Skranefjeld 19 Slaatten 25 Sveigenes 15 Svinland 36 Teistedal 24 Titland 32 Ulleland 40 Vatland 31 Vindskei
Feda Gards-og Slektshistorie
Store Meland, Lille Meland, Geiskeli, Lohne, Lohneskar, Frøytland, Ytre Raustad, Høyland, Refsti, Hangeland, Feda, Birkeland, Lindlandstrand, Sande, Svindland, Løgen, Fosseland, Slåta, Neset, Haugeland, Litlejorde, Lilllehavn, Lien, Titland, Sveigenes, Håland, Nygård, Tangen, Øvre Tangen, Nedre Dalen, Skranefjell, Vindskei, Ulland, Rørvik, Teistedal, Egeland, Opofte, Nedre Lande, Øvre Lande, Vatland
Lister og Lyngdal
*1666-1889 Family History Library
Lister judicial district
Årli, Ånen: Feda Gards-og Slektshistorie. Utgitt 1980
- This page was last modified on 23 July 2015, at 16:50.
- This page has been accessed 1,595 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News