Ferry Fryston, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ferry Fryston, Yorkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.pngWest Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Ferry Fryston

Guide to Ferry Fryston, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ferry Fryston, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Osgoldcross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Barwick Gilbert Union
Registration District Pontefract
Records begin
Parish registers: 1674
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery New Ainsty
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Parish History

FRYSTONE, FERRY (St. Andrew), a parish, in the Upper division of the wapentake of Osgoldcross, W. riding of York, ¾ of a mile (W. N. W.) from FerryBridge; containing 951 inhabitants. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ferry Fryston, Yorkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
Ferry Fryston, Yorkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1616-1812 1616-1812 1616-1812 1616-1812 1616-1812 1616-1812

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1674.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464267.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 269-272. Date Accessed: 11 November 2013
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 May 2015, at 19:54.
  • This page has been accessed 2,309 times.