Y Ferwig, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ferwig, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngY Ferwig

A guide to genealogy in Y Ferwig, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; ...

Y Ferwig is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

VERWIC (Y-VERWIG), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 2 1/4miles (N.) from Cardigan. This parish, which is situated on the coast of St. George's channel, is celebrated in the Welsh annals for the memorable and sanguinary resistance opposed by the natives to a body of invading Flemings, who had effected a landing on a part of the beach, called Traeth y Mount; and in the desperate battle which ensued these invaders were defeated with dreadful carnage, and their dead bodies were strewn in heaps on the sands. The church, dedicated to St. Pedrog, is a small ancient edifice, and consists of a nave and chancel separated by a large pointed arch, with a tower communicating with the nave by a similar arch of smaller dimensions; the font is elaborately ornamented, and over the porch is the date 1627. There are places of worship for Baptists and Calvinistic Methodists, with a Sunday school held in each of them.[1]

For more information, see Genuki - Y Ferwig

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Cardiganshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Ceredigion

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 416-419. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 January 2014, at 22:30.
  • This page has been accessed 469 times.