Fife, ScotlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Fife

Scotland-fifeshire.png

Contents

History

Fife is a maritime county in the east of Scotland, bounded on the north by the river Tay, on the east by the German Ocean, on the south by the Firth of Forth, and on the west by the counties of Perth, Kinross, and Clackmannan.  It is about 48 miles in length and 18 in extreme breadth, comprising an area of 504 square miles or 322,560 acres.  It was anciently part of the extensive district of Ross, but after the union of the kingdoms of the Scots and the Picts in about the year 971, it was granted by Kenneth II to Macduff for his services in subjugating the Picts, and he was appointed hereditary thane of the lands he had helped conquer [for this reason, the county is still referred to as the Kingdom of Fife].

The county consists of 61 parishes and four civil districts of Cupar, Kirkcaldy, St. Andrew's and Dunfermline.  Sheriff's courts are held at Cupar (the county town) for the first three and at Dunfermline for the last.  Besides Cupar, the county contains fourteen royal burghs, nine other populous towns, and numerous smaller towns and villages.  Many of the towns are seaports.  The principal port is Kirkcaldy.

The surface of the county, which is pleasingly diversified with gentle undulations and in some parts with hills of lofty elevation, is separated by ranges of hills into several beautiful and extensive vales.  The soil is rich and suitable for growing oats, wheat, barley, turnips and potatoes.  Cattle and sheep are raised, as well as horses and pigs.  The county abounds in coal and limestone of good quality that is largely wrought.  Freestone, whinstone, and ironstone are also wrought.  Lead and copper are also found but not wrought to any extent.  The principal manufacture is that of linen.  Flax spinning is carried on to a great extent.  There is also the manufacture of paper, soap, candles, and glue, and there are iron-foundaries, tanneries, potteries, brick and tiles works, numerous bleachfields, a vitriol-work, breweries, distilleries, malting establishments, and various other works.  Ship-building is carried on at the several seaport towns on the south.  The commerce of the county consists of exporting cattle and sheep, produce, minerals, and various other goods.     

The population in 1851 was 140,140.

(Source:  Samuel Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, 2nd ed., 1851.  Family Hisotry Library book 941 E5L.)

Parishes

Here is a list of the historic parishes for the county of Fife. Click on the parish name to see information about records.

Parish No. Parish No.
Abbotshall 399 Flisk 430
Abdie 400 Forgan 431
Abercrombie -- See St. Monance 454
Aberdour 401 Inverkeithing 432
Anstruther-Easter 402 Kemback 433
Anstruther-Wester 403 Kennoway 434
Arngask 404 Kettle 435
Auchterderran 405 Kilconquhar 436
Auchtermuchty 406 Kilmany 437
Auchtertool 407 Kilrenny 438
Ballingry 408 Kinghorn 439
Balmerino 409 Kinglassie 440
Beath 410 Kingsbarns 441
Burntisland 411 Kirkcaldy 442
Cameron 412 Largo 443
Carnbee 413 Leslie 444
Carnock  414  Leuchars 445
Ceres 415  Logie 446
Collessie  416 Markinch 447
Crail 417 Monimail 448
Creich 418 Moonzie 449
Cults 419 Newburgh 450
Cupar 420 Newburn 451
Dairsie 421 Pittenweem 452
Dalgetty 422 St. Andrews and St. Leonards 453
Dunbog 423 St. Leonards -- See. St. Andrews 453
Dunfermline 424 St. Monance or Abercrombie 454
Dunino 425 Saline 455
Dysart 426 Scoonie 456
Elie 427 Strathmiglo 457
Falkland 428 Torryburn 458
Ferry-Port-on-Craig 429 Wemyss 459


Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. In 1841, the British government began taking censuses of the population of Scotland every ten years, listing all persons by name.  The census records must be 100 years old before they are released to the public, so the 1841 through 1901 are currently available.  Read more about Scotland Census Records.

Many census records have been indexed by surname. Some indexes cover one parish (and will be listed in the Wiki on the parish page) and some indexes are for the county as a whole. Here is a list of the known county-wide census indexes for Angus which are available at the Family History Library.

Year Family History Library Call Number
1841     book 941.33 X22s, 6 vols, also CD-ROM no. 1075
1851 book 941.33 X22f, arranged by parish number
1861 CD-ROM no. 2524
1881 fiche 6086574 (set of 8) 

NOTE:  The 1841 census is missing for the parishes of Abdie, Auchtermuchty, Balmerino, Ceres, Collessie, Creich, Cults, Cupar, Dairsie, Dunbog, Kinghorn, Kinglassie, Kirkcaldy, and Leslie. 

The library also has a collection of census surname indexes for different places within Fife. Click here to see a table listing these other census surname indexes that are available at the library.

Alternatively for census records for the various parishes, see the parish pages by clicking on the links above.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Annual indexes are available for the whole country.  See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Court Records

The county of Fife was in the Sheriff's court of Cupar (SC20).  The Registers of Deeds for Sheriffs' courts contains much valuable information for family history research such as marriage contracts and deeds of 'disposal and settlement' (or assignment) of property, which both give names and relationships.  The Fife Family History Society has created an index to the Fife Sheriff's Court Deeds for 1715-1809 that is searchable on their website at http://www.fifefhs.org/.  In the website, click on the link for 'Records & maps.'

Probate Records

Probate records are those which deal with the settlement of the estate of a deceased person.  In Scotland, until 1868, a person could only pass movable property such as household furniture, farm equipment, livestock, money and clothes through a document known as a 'testament.'  Immovable property such as land was passed to the eldest son or heir through a document known as a 'Service of Heir,' which is not a record of probate.  Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

Until 1823, the majority of the parishes of Fife were under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of St. Andrews (CC20).  The Commissary Court of Dunkeld (CC7) had jurisdiction over the parishes of Aberdour, Leslie, and Strathmiglo, and the Commissary Court of Stirling (CC21) had jurisdiction over the parishes of Carnock, Saline, and Torryburn.  Since 1823, the whole of the county has been under the jurisdiction of the Sheriff's Court of Fife at Cupar (SC20).

Probate records for 1513-1901 (including inventories of goods) are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place' of Fife and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of St. Andrews.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Fife. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place' of Fife and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Maps

Fife and Kinross, c. 1845.jpg
Click on the map at the right to see a larger version, and click again on the larger map. Next, click on the ‘Expand’ button when it appears in the lower right-hand corner of the map.


 

Click here to see an outline map of the parishes of Fife.

1885 County Maps: Fifeshire Eastern Section | Fifeshire Western Section: Courtesy of London Ancestor

Poorhouse Records

There are three workhouses:

Dunfermline Combination

Dysart Combination

Kirkcaldy Combination


Helpful Websites

[Return to county list.]


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 March 2014, at 10:12.
  • This page has been accessed 10,040 times.