Finnmark County, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Finnmark County, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
The county was formerly known as Finmarkens amt or Vardøhus amt, and since 2002, has had two official names: Finnmark (Norwegian) and Finnmárku (Sami language). It is part of the Sápmi region, which spans four countries, as well as the Barents Region, and is the largest and least populated county of Norway.
Situated at the Northernmost part of continental Europe, where Norway swings eastward, Finnmark has always been an area where east meets west, in culture as well as in nature and geography.
Family History Resources
Government Offices and Sites
Cities, Parishes and Clerical Districts in Finnmark County
Fornavnregister til skifteprotokollene for Finnmark 1686-1816 (1818) by Arne Gunnar Edvardsen. Index to probate records for Finnmark county, Norway, 1686-1816 (1818). The index is arranged in alphabetical order according to given name.
Registre til geistlige og militære skifter i Troms og Finnmark by Arne Gunnar Edvardsen. Index to probate records for Lutheran ministers and their families, 1697 -1824 for Troms and Finnmark counties; and for military personnel at Vardøhus fortress, 1741-1817.
Return to Norway Page
- This page was last modified on 10 February 2015, at 20:19.
- This page has been accessed 5,867 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News