Fisherton Anger, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Fisherton Anger, Wiltshire)

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Fisherton Anger, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fisherton Anger, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Branch and Dole
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Alderbury PLU
Registration District Alderbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1627
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wilton
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FISHERTON-ANGER (St. Clement),Is a village and a parish, in the union of Alderbury, hundred of Branch and Dole, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of Wilts. The village stands on the right bank of the river Avon, and on the Southwestern railway, suburban to Salisbury; and communicates with that city by a stone bridge, near which is the Salisbury infirmary[1]. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.[2]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Fisherton Anger, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[6]
Fisherton Anger, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1627-1812, 1880
1627-1753 (gaps)

IGI 1813-1880 1627-1895
NBI

1608-1837
NIM 1608-1837
1625-1837
1608-1837


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464193.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 238-241. Date accessed: 11 September 2013.
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  6. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:46.
  • This page has been accessed 2,328 times.