Fitjar, NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Norway > Hordaland County > Fitjar

Contents

Church Records

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Fitjar clerical district). Contains parish registers for Fitjar parish with Bekkjarvik chapel. Fitjar was separated from Stord clerical district in 1862. For earlier records see Stord clerical district. Records available from 1862-1928.

Images of digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Fitjar: 1862-1899

Fitjar/Bekkjarvik: 1900-1928

Fitjar/Fitjar: 1887-1928

For earlier records see Stord

Census Records

See Stord for census records before 1865.

  • 1875 Census Fitjar clerical district is on microfilm at Family History Library Film 273502.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Aaland, Jacob and Helland, Andreas,Fitjar, bygdeskipnad og bygdesoga, Contains three volumes in one binding. The first volume is a history of Fitjar in Hordaland county. The second volume is a genealogy of the people and their farms while the third volume tells about the people who emigrated to America. FHL 948.32/F2 H2a v. 1-3 A farm name index to this book is found in the following link. File:948.32-F2 H2a V1-3 - FITJAR 1-3.pdf

Steinsbø, Simon, Fitjar bygdebok, [Fitjar] : Fitjar kommune-bygdeboknemnd, 1986. A genealogy and a history of the people and their farms in Fitjar, Hordaland, Norway. An index was created for these volumes by FHL missionaries and staff and have been added to the front of the books. These farm name indexes are found at the following links. File:948.32-F2 D2s V1 - Fitjar V1.pdf, File:948.32-F2 D2S v2 - FITJAR 2-2.pdf

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows

57 Aarbø 69 Aarskog 18 Afløipet 42 Aga 42 Agasøsteren 11 Baateviken 9 Bekkervik 5 Blænes 68 Breivik 2 Brekke 20 Bukholmen 39 Dalen 8 Drivenes søndre 24 Eggøen vestre 23 Eggøen østre 89 Eide 26 Eidet 17 Engesund vestre 82 Engevik midtre 45 Fattigmandshavn 65 Fitje 12 Gaukseim 29 Gisøsund 16 Glopholmen 71 Gloppen 11 Grasdalen 42 Grunnesundsholmen 12 Haattviken 86 Hageberg 25 Hanøen 40 Hatlevik 67 Havnen 49 Helland 48 Hjelmen 50 Hofstø 84 Hovland 3 Husevik 18 Ivarsøen 50 Jordnaaen 5 Kalsundsholmen 15 Kjeholmen 42 Klaksøen 49 Koløen 41 Kuviken 27 Kvarven 34 Kvernenes 6 Kviebakken 70 Lande 19 Langøen 79 Levaag nedre 56 Lierbø 72 Lillenes 37 Natterøen 60 Nesbø 13 Nordfonnen 42 Orrøen 1 Otteraaen 63 Præstbø 12 Ramesletten 54 Raudland 87 Raunholmen nordre 62 Rimbereid 35 Risøen 63 Sagastrand 78 Sandvik 33 Selsøen 21 Siglen 21 Sigleneset 64 Skaalevik 73 Skomsnes 77 Stokken nordre 53 Stokken søndre 47 Strømøen 50 Sæleviken 10 Sætre 55 Sætrebø 46 Sætrevik 14 Sørfonnen 44 Tangen 51 Tislevold 74 Tofteland lille 28 Torge 22 Torsdagsøen 38 Tranøen 5 Træet 76 Tveit 58 Tveite 36 Tverdarvik 7 Uglenes 61 Vespestad 43 Veøen 6 Vik nordre 52 Vik store 59 Vik søndre 32 Viken nordre 11 Vikestølen 4 Vinnes 85 Vistvik 66 Volden 30 Ylvesund

Probate Records

1668-1887: Records are found in Sunnhordaland judicial district.

1800-1852: Some of the farms in this parish belonged to Lysekloster Estate. If the probate is not found in the district above look at Hardanger og Voss where the probates for Lysekloster were kept.

1690-1877: Clerical probate records are found in Sunnhordaland Deanery.

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 December 2013, at 19:18.
  • This page has been accessed 579 times.