Fladbury, Worcestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Fladbury, Worcestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Fladbury, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fladbury, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oswaldslow
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Pershore PLU
Registration District Droitwich; Evesham; Pershore
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560; Separate registers exist for Hill and Moor beginning 1670 and for Wyre Piddle beginning 1670
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612; Separate records exist for Wyre Piddle beginning 1615
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pershore
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Rector of Fladbury
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FLADBURY (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Pershore, Middle division of the hundred of Oswaldslow, Pershore and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, 4½ miles (N. W.) from Evesham; comprising the chapelries of Stock with Bradley, Throckmorton, and Wyre-Piddle, and the hamlets of Abbot's Lench, and Hill with Moor. In the reign of Ethelred, a society of religious persons was established here.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464210.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Resources

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 07 October 2013.

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,337 times.