Flawford, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Flawford, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Flawford, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Flawford, Lincolnshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newark
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Newark
Registration District Newark
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office


Parish History

Flawford, an extra-parochial parish, partly in Lincolnshire and mostly in Nottinghamshire 4 miles NE. of Newark.[1]

Flawford became a civil parish in 1858 and was abolished in 1884. Parts respectively transferred in 1884 to Stapleford, Lincolnshire and Barnby in the Willows, Nottinghamshire. [2][3]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records 

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Flawford

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John Bartholomew Gazetteer of the British Isles. published in 1887. Date accessed: 19 August 2013.
  2. Youngs, Frederic A. Guide to the Local Administrative Units of England, Vol. 2; Northern England. Offices of Royal Historical Society, London: 1991.
  3. Wilcox, Anthony, National Index of Parish Registers, Vol. 6, Pt. 4. Society of Genealogist, London: 1995.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 May 2015, at 04:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,079 times.