Fledborough, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Fledborough, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Fledborough St Gregory Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||East Retford|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1562|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1626|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
FLEDBOROUGH (St. Gregory), a parish, in the union of East Retford, N. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 5¼ miles (E. by N.) from Tuxford. 
FLEDBOROUGH, a parish in East Retford district, Notts; on the river Trent, 4 miles ENE of Tuxford r. station, and 5 ENE of Tuxford. It includes Woodcotes hamlet; and its post town is Dunham-on-Trent, under Newark. Acres, 1, 427. Real property, £2, 387. Pop., 115. Houses, 23. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Lincoln.
The church was known in the mid 18th century as a place for runaway marriages, with licences granted by its rector, Rev W. Sweetapple.
Fledborough St Gregory is an Ancient Parish which includes ; the church is a redundant Anglican church designated by English Heritage as a grade I listed building and now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust. Fledborough Wikipedia English heritage listing
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Fledborough, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Fledborough, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Fledborough
Fledborough - St. Gregory's. An alphabetical listing of transcription of Memorial Inscriptions, giving surname, given name, date of death and age, dated from 1725, both inside and outside the church. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 82, pages 18-19, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Fledborough in GENUKI: Fledborough
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis,. A topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
- ↑ John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
- ↑ Rev. A Du Boulay Hill, Excursion 1907: Fledborough church, Transactions of the Thoroton Society, 11 (1907)
- ↑ 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' findmypast, accessed 21 January 2015.
- This page was last modified on 24 November 2015, at 19:20.
- This page has been accessed 2,457 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News