Flitcham with Appleton, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Flitcham with Appleton, Norfolk
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Freebridge-Lynn
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Freebridge Lynn PLU
Registration District Freebridge Lynn
Records begin
Parish records: 1755
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lynn
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FLITCHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of Freebridge-Lynn, W. division of Norfolk, 9 miles (N. E.) from Lynn. [1]

Flitcham St Mary is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich.

The church in common with others in the Sandringham Estate area benefited from the renovation funded by the patronage of the Royal Family .

Flitcham has an entry in the Domesday Book of 1085 where its , its population, land ownership and productive resources were extensively detailed In the survey Flitcham is recorded by the name of Flicham, Phlicham and Plic(e)ham. The main tenants being the Bishop of Bayeux, William de Warenne and Robert and Ranulf Fitz Walter from Roger Bigot. The survey also list that there are 4 mills, a church, 3 acres of meadow, paunage for 27 swine, 3 cows, 1 beast for carriage and 180 sheep. In the Domesday Book the size of woodland was normally given as the number of swine a wood could support in this case 27 pigs.

The name Flitcham (Felix ham) may be associated with Felix of Burgundy http://www.localancestors.com/FamousPeople/Cambridgeshire/FelixofBurgundy.html and a mission to the area. Flitcham with Appleton or Flitcham cum Appleton is an Eclesiastical parish created in the early 1700's from Flitcham Ancient Parish and Appleton Ancient parish.

The ruins of Appleton St Mary are within the parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Freebridge Lynn 1837-1938
  • King's Lynn 1939-1974

Church records

Flitcham with Appleton, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
Flitcham with Appleton, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1755-1837

FREG 1600-1812
1600-1837
1600-1812
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
JOIN
1755-1837

PALL
1790-1837

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 556/ 1-11

This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the Family History Library Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content
Film
Baptisms 1600-1611, 1623-1636, 1668-1811 Marriages and burials 1600-1611, 1623-1636, 1668-1812
FHL BRITISH Film
1526742 Item 13

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438857.

Poor Law Unions

Freebridge Lynn http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?FreebridgeLynn/FreebridgeLynn.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 244-248. Date accessed: 19 September, 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 April 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 701 times.