Florence County, Wisconsin GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Florence County, Wisconsin)

Guide to Florence County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Florence County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records



Florence County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 18, 1882
County Seat Florence, Wisconsin
Courthouse
Address Florence County Courthouse
501 Lake Avenue
Florence, WI 54121-0410
Phone. 715.528.3201
WI Florence.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Florence County Courthouse
501 Lake Avenue
Florence, WI 54121-0410
Phone. 715.528.3201

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, probate and court records [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1882--Florence County was created 18 March 1882 from Marinette and Oconto Counties. County seat: Florence [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Dickinson County, Michigan  • Forest  • Iron County, Michigan  • Marinette

WI FLORENCE.JPG

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History and Records

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Florence County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Florence County.

- 11th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Records 1882-1947 are housed at:

Archives Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives Area Research Center
Citizenship Record Request form located on our website at: University of Wisconsin - Green Bay

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers
  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 756 Florence County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 April 2015, at 21:13.
  • This page has been accessed 5,791 times.