Flummoxed - Extending Family LinesEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Back to Family History for the Flummoxed
You're here because you want to extend a family line.
This page is part of the Flummoxed series. If you've come here, you probably haven't have found the information you need about your family in any of the following:
- Indexed records found at FamilySearch.org. Indexed records are only the tip of the iceberg. Most records are un-indexed and can be used like microfilm by following the link in the next item.
- Un-indexed records that can be browsed using the FamilySearch.org collections list. Notice that at the left side of the page you can focus on the place, date, and category of what you are trying to find.
- Online archives in various locations throughout the world as linked from within this FamilySearch.org Wiki. Example: Online archives of the Czech Republic.
- Films, books and other resources available at or through the Family History Library and worldwide FamilySearch Centers as found in the library's Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp on-line catalog.
Not to worry!
Please Pick One of These
So that we can better help you, please do one of the following:
- Roughly categorize and select the time period in which you want to extend a family line, or
- Select "Town of Orgin" if you are trying to find the birth in a foreign country of someone who immigrated.
- Early Period -
Before records were kept for the common man (about 1600 in the western world).
- Middle Period -
Within the time that vital records for the common man were primarily kept by religious organizations (from about 1600 to 1900).
- Modern Period -
After the time that civil and census records were kept for the common man (from the late 1800s through the present, but earlier in some local areas).
- Town of Origin -
"Crossing the Pond" is often a big challenge because censuses are not common in Europe. The problem is often solvable, and we'll try to help you.
Please click on one of the above periods to continue your journey. Remember, you can always return here and pick a different option.
- This page was last modified on 10 October 2014, at 00:15.
- This page has been accessed 927 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News