Fluvanna County, Virginia GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Fluvanna County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Fluvanna County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Fluvanna County Virginia Courthouse
Fluvanna County Courthouse
P O Box 299
Palmyra, Virginia 22963
Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records 1853-1896,
marriage, divorce, probate court and land records from 1777
and some burial records
Fluvanna County Virginia History
For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
- Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890
For a list of record loss in Virginia counties see: Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses
Fluvanna County Virginia Places/Localities
Fluvanna County Virginia Genealogy Resources
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Fluvanna County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 10, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1966):76-77. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
- Murphy, Marie Martin. "Fluvanna County Research," The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 23, No. 6 (Jun. 1999):1-3. Available at FHL; digital version at Virginia Genealogical Society website.
Fluvanna County, Virginia Genealogy cohabitation records are available online.
Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
- Heinegg, Paul. "Fluvanna County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1818," Free African Americans.com, available online. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
- Tombstone Transcription Project Fluvanna County - cemetery transcriptions and photos - USGenWeb
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
For tips on accessing Fluvanna County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.
- Fluvanna County Heads of Families - 1782 at U.S. Census Bureau - free. County begins on page 18.
1890 Union Veterans
- Turner, Ronald Ray. Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. Available online, courtesy: Prince William County Virginia website. [Includes residents of this county.]
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
- Fork (1774)
- Lyle's (1798), Wilmington, Va. A history, which includes membership lists 1799-1815, 1877-1974, was published in 1974: FHL Book 975.547 K2t. Another history was published in the Fluvanna County Historical Society Bulletin, Issue 59 (Spring 1995), as well as back in Issue 18 (April 1974).
The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.
Fluvanna County fell within the bounds of the Albemarle Association.
- King, Mrs. James E. "First Minute Book, Upper Beaver Dam Church, Fluvanna, Virginia," [1830s-1850s] The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 14, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1970):99-104. FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
Church of England
See also Fluvanna Parish
More than 25 genealogies have been published about Fluvanna County families. To view a list, visit Fluvanna County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.
During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 1 British alien living in Fluvanna County.
Land and Property
Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.
- Hudgins et al. 713 patents dated 1721-1855 in what is now Fluvanna County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2008. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
- Fluvanna County Historical Society. The Bulletin of the Fluvanna County Historical Society. Issues 1-12. The Society, 1965-1971. Digital version at Google Books (full-view).
French and Indian War
- Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Fluvanna County veterans; see place name index.]
Regiments. Service men in Fluvanna County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Fluvanna County supplied soldiers for the:
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Fluvanna County on page 130.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
War of 1812
Fluvanna County men served in the 12th Regiment.
- Douthat, James L. Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2007. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. FHL Collection 975.5 M2djL. [Includes Fluvanna County.]
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Fluvanna County, pp. 79-80. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Regiments. Service men in Fluvanna County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Fluvanna County, Virginia Genealogy:
- - 14th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Fluvanna Rifle Guard).
- - 44th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Ambler Grays), Company F (Fluvanna Hornets) and Company K (Fluvanna Guards).
- - 46th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Scottsville Grays).
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
- Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Fluvanna County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.
Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007
A free index to Fluvanna County, Virginia Genealogy wills and administrations (1777-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia website.
- [1782-1850] Fluvanna County, Virginia Personal Property Tax Lists, 1782-1850. Original records, Library of Virginia, Richmond, Va.; also available on microfilm at FHL.
- [1782-1818] Heinegg, Paul. "Fluvanna County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1818," Free African Americans.com, available online. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
- [1782-1800, 1863-1864, 1892] Fluvanna County, Virginia Land (Tax) Books, 1782-1800, 1863-1864, 1892. Original records, Fluvanna County Courthouse, Palmyra, Va.; also available on microfilm at FHL.
-  Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Fluvanna County is included in Vol. 1.]
- [1790, 1802] Indexed images of the 1790 and 1802 Personal Property Tax Lists of Fluvanna County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
-  "Fluvanna County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 22, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1978):16-22. Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($).
-  Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Fluvanna County is included in Vol. 1.]
Indexes to Fluvanna County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
- 1660-1800 - Virginia Marriages 1660-1800 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1777-1858 - Fluvanna County Marriage Bonds (VAGenWeb) - free.
- 1781-1923 - Fluvanna County Marriage Index 1781-1923. Batch M868774 (broken link) at FamilySearch - free.
Vital Record Substitutes
The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available for free online. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Fluvanna County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Fluvanna County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- Fluvanna County, Virginia USGENWEB.
- Fluvanna Historical Society
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Fluvanna County, VA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- Cyndi's List
Fluvanna County Virginia Genealogy References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fluvanna County, Virginia. Page 713 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 221. Digital version at Google Books.
- ↑ Archie Paul Thompson, Lyles Baptist Church, 1774-1974, Fluvanna County, Virginia (Va.: A.P. Thompson and Trustees of Lyles Baptist Church, 1974). FHL Book 975.547 K2t.
- ↑ William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
- ↑ Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
- ↑ J.T. McAllister, Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data (Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co., 1913), 31-32. Digitized by Internet Archive.
- ↑ Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 84. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
- ↑ Edward R. Crews and Timothy A. Parish, 14th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 117.
- ↑ Kevin C. Ruffner, 44th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 39.
- ↑ Darrell L. Collins, 46th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 85.
- ↑ 11.0 11.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 5 June 2015, at 02:13.
- This page has been accessed 64,517 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News