Folkingham with Laughton, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Folkingham with Laughton, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Folkingham with Laughton, Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aveland
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Bourne
Registration District Bourn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1583
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aveland
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office


Parish History

FALKINGHAM, or Folkingham (St. Andrew), a market-town and parish, in the union of Bourne, wapentake of Aveland, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 26 miles (S. S. E.) from Lincoln, and 106 (N. by W.) from London. The parish is intersected by the road from Stamford to Lincoln, and, with the ancient parish of Laughton. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street

Enquiries: The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Folkingham Par 1 and Laughton Par 1 will identify available images.

Search History Library Catalogue Folkingham with Laughton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438757.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Bourne Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 209-213. Date accessed: 19 August 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 May 2015, at 04:15.
  • This page has been accessed 1,627 times.