Fond du Lac Indian Agency (Minnesota)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Indians of Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Fond du Lac Indian Agency (Minnesota)

Guide to Fond du Lac Indian Agency (Minnesota) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Contents

Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency

Chippewa

History

The Fond du Lac Agency was established about 1909 for the Indians of the Fond du Lac Reservation previously assigned to the La Pointe Agency. In 1919, the Indians of the Nett Lake and Grand Portage Reservations were added to the Fond du Lac Agency. The agency was discontinued and the Indians under its jurisdiction were transferred to the Red Lake Agency, 1 July 1920[1].

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Some of the historical records of this agency are housed in the Central Plains Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in Kansas City[2]. Records in that collection which may be of assistance to the genealogist include land patents and heirship files, 1918-1920.

Microfilm copies of ...Narrative and Statistical Reports... for the Fond du Lac Agency, 1910-1921, are included in National Archives Microcopy M1011, Roll 43[3], available in the National Archives system and in the collections of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, beginning with their microfilm number 1724261.

Annual Indian Census Rolls were taken at this agency for 1910 thru 1920. These rolls have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M595, roll 117[4]. Copies of these records are also available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm number 576472). These census rolls are also available online at Ancestry.com's subscription web site.

References

  1. Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981, p. 155.
  2. Guide to Federal Records, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Record Group 75. Available online.
  3. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M1011, p. 27.
  4. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M595, p. 51.
  • American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
  • Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
  • Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
  • Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
  • Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online
  • "Accompanying Pamphlet for Microcopy 1011", National Archives Microfilm Publications, Appendix.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 20:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,057 times.