Fonthill Gifford, WilthireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.pngWiltshire Parishes


Contents

Parish History

FONTHILL, GIFFORD (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Tisbury, hundred of Dunworth, Hindon and S. divisions of Wilts, 1½ mile SE by E of Hindon, and 2 NNW of Tisbury railway station. [1][2]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Fonthill Gifford, Wilthire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
Fonthill Gifford, Wilthire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1664-1717, 1747-1865
1625-1837

IGI 1661-1837
NIM 1622-1837
1622-1837
1622-1837


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464195.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

 
  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 248-250. Date accessed: 11 September 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:38.
  • This page has been accessed 479 times.