Fordham, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Fordham, Cambridgeshire)

England Gotoarrow.png CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Fordham, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fordham, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staploe
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Newmarket PLU
Registration District Newmarket
Records begin
Parish registers: 1567
Bishop's Transcripts: 1569
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fordham
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FORDHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Newmarket, hundred of Staploe, county of Cambridge, 5½ miles (N.) from Newmarket. The Independents have a place of worship.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Fordham records transcribed from the original registers, compiled and indexed by Mrs. N.K. Travers at FHL

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241225.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Fordham on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 January 2014.
Return to Cambridgeshire Parishes



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2015, at 02:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,171 times.