Fordwich, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Fordwich, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fordwich St Mary the Virgin Kent.jpg

Contents

Parish History

FORDWICH (St. Mary), a parish, and a member of the town and port of Sandwich, in the union of Bridge, locally in the hundred of Downhamford, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 2 miles (E. by N.) from Canterbury. [1]


Fordwich is a town within the City of Canterbury district, see Fordwich Wikipedia

Fordwich St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish and is a redundant Anglican church, now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust, see Fordwich St Mary the Virgin Wikipedia and Churches Conservation Trust .

Fordwich is the smallest place in England with a town council although from 1880 until the 1972 local government reorganisation it lost that status and Mayor and Corporation.

It is the landing place on the River Stour for Caen Stone to be used in the construction of Canterbury Cathedral.

See Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted  [The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 56-67 at British History Online  and Kent Churches website

The modern parish of Sturry with Fordwich and Westbere with Hersden parish boundary map may be viewed at A church near you See Sturry, Kent

Resources

Civil Registration

See Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Fordwich, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3]
Fordwich, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1756-1927 (Banns) 1756-1927 (Banns) 1683-1812 1683-1812

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306861.


The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.


Poor Law Unions

Bridge Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 250-253. Date accessed: 1 August 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 04:15.
  • This page has been accessed 1,564 times.