Forest Town St Alban, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire

Contents

Parish History

Forest Town St Alban developed from the earlier 1905 wooden building St David's Mission Church in Forest Town, which was a new mining community centred on the sinking of mine shafts by the Bolsover Colliery Company at Crown Farm on land belonging to the Duke of Portland. As the colliery grew and miners from all parts of the country came to live and work. St Albans was consecrated in July 1911; the Primitive Methodist chapel schoolroom dated from 1905 and the Wesleyan Methodists erected a chapel a few years later.  Forest town is part of Clipstone within the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire.

See St Alban Church Wikipedia

Southwell and Nottingham Church History project are researching the history of the church and parish Forest Town St Alban

See also Malcolm and Pauline Marples Forest Town website Forest Town

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Jurisdictions, Parishes E -H to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites




 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:36.
  • This page has been accessed 664 times.