Fort Belknap Indian Community (Montana)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Montana Gotoarrow.png Indians of Montana Gotoarrow.png Fort Belknap Indian Community (Montana)

Guide to Assiniboin Indian and Gros Ventre Indian ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

The Fort Belknap Indian Community is a federally-recognized tribal entity and is primarily associated with the Fort Belknap Reservation in Montana.


Tribal Headquarters

Fort Belknap Indian Community
Rural Route 1 Box 66
Harlem, MT 59526
Phone: 1.406.353.2205
Fax: 1.406.353.4541



Brief Timeline


This community is primarily associated with the Fort Belknap Reservation in Montana,


The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Web Sites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.



Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 August 2015, at 17:00.
  • This page has been accessed 1,722 times.