Forteviot, Perthshire, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Perthshire Gotoarrow.png Forteviot

Parish #354

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Forteviot. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.

Contents

History

FORTEVIOT. a parish, in the county of Perth, 5 miles (W. by S.) from Bridge of Earn. This was the seat of many of the Pictish kings, who had a palace at Haly Hill, near the site of the present church. The parish, which is about eight miles in length and two in breadth, is divided into three detached and unequal portions by the intervening parishes of Aberdalgie and Forgandenny. The church, before the Reformation, was attached to the abbey of Cambuskenneth, and subsequently to the college of St. Andrew's, the present edifice is a plain structure, in good repair. There is a place of worship for members of the Secession Church in the Ochil district of the parish.[1]


The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Forteviot as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Year
FHL Film Number
Surname Indexes
1841
1042693
none
1851
1042264
941.32 X22p 1851 no. 354
1861
0103893
none
1871
0104074
none
1881
0203505
6086646 (6 fiche)
1891
0208734
none

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.


Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Record Type
Years Covered
FHL Film Number
Births:
1710-1713 - baptisms
1040353 item 4-5

1720-1820 - baptisms
1040353 item 4-5

1820-1854 - miscellaneous notes
1040116 item 1-2
Marriages:
1724-1738 - proclamations
1040353 item 4-5

1710-1713 - proclamations
1040353 item 4-5

1720-1789 - proclamations
1040353 item 4-5

1763-1789
1040116 item 1-2

1831-1852
1040116 item 1-2
Deaths:
1710-1713 - mortcloth dues
1040353 item 4-5

1720-1789 - mortcloth dues
1040353 item 4-5

1766-1854 - burials, morthcloth dues
1040116 item 1-2

 

Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index available on computers at the Family History Library and family history centers.  The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: There are no entries December 1713–April 1720. Mothers' names are seldom recorded until 1774.
Marriages: Marriage records prior to 1789 are mixed with other matters. There are no entries November 1789–November 1831.
Deaths: Mortcloth Dues are mixed with entries of marriage. There are few entries and none for 1786–December 1831.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes 1727-1728 (a copy), 1768–1809, 1812–1817, 1824–1890
Accounts 1789–1855
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/1243.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

There were no known nonconformist groups in the parish.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Forteviot was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Dunblane until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Dunblane. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Perthshire and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Dunblane.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Perthshire. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Perthshire and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.


References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 441-457. Adapted. Date accessed: 09 May 2014.


Return to Perthshire parish list.



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,212 times.