Fraserburgh, Aberdeenshire, ScotlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Parish #196

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Fraserburgh. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.

Contents

History


The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/.  Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Fraserburgh, as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Year
Family History Library Film Number
Surname Indexes
1841
1042655
none
1851
1042116
none
1861
0103780
none
1871
0103930
none
1881
0203456
6086502 (12 fiche)
1891
0208677
none


The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

Established Church–Old Parochial Registers

Record Type Years Covered Family History Library Film Number
Births: 1733-1854 0993185
Marriages: 1750-1817 0993185

1820-1854 0993185
Deaths: 1764-1817 0993185

 

Condition of Original Registers—

Index: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index available on computers at the Family History Library and family history centers.  The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: Birth records are defective for 1749. There is a duplicate of a portion February 1750–January 1757. Interpolated entries are not un-frequent after 1750, and irregular entries dated 1789–1810 occur after 1812. Mothers’ names are seldom recorded before 1818.
Marriages: Marriage records are blank December 1755–December 1783. After February 1794, except for three entries 1804–1811, the record is merely one of proclamation fees, etc., and is defective.
Deaths: Prior to 1779, only a record of Mortcloth Dues exists. The records are blank from the latter date until December 1783, when a register of burials commences, which is continued to November 1791. There are only Mortcloth Dues from 1791–1817.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.
Monumental Inscriptions: for Peathill Old Churchyard Family History Library Book 941.25/3 V3s

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:
Minutes 1612–1616, 1618–1631, 1661, 1718–1730, 1732–1746, 1780–1816, 1833–1895
Minutes and Accounts 1666–1692
Accounts 1717–1728
Registers of Discipline 1816–1833
Cash Book 1762–81, 1794–1817
Seabox of Fraserburgh Minutes 1714–1833, with gaps
Note: Available at the New Register House, Edingburgh, records CH2/1142

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union List.

Fraserburgh Free Church

History—
The congregation here was formed immediately after the Disruption, and regular services provided. Steps were taken at once for the erection of a church. Some years elapsed before a schoolhouse and manse were built.
Membership: 1848, 390; 1900, 294.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details are given in the source.

Records—
Minutes 1792–1871
Deacon’s Court Minutes 1844–1899
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH3/1051.

Fraserburgh Congregational Churches

History—
A church was formed in 1803 as a result of the preaching of James Haldane in the area. A pastor was acquired the same year. The church was located on Mid Street. Another church was formed in 1845 by three deacons and fifty six members of the Mid Street church who were sympathetic with the Evangelical Unionists. A small chapel was erected on Manse Street. The congregation joined the Evangelical Union in 1865. The church was closed in 1916.
Source: A History of Scottish Congregationalism, by Harry Escott, pub. 1960. Family History Library Book 941 K2es, pages 254–7. This book includes further details on each congregation plus a list of ministers. See also 941 K2mwd.

Records—
The extent of records is unknown. For information, write to:
United Reformed Church Synod of Scotland
340 Cathedral Street
Glasgow G1 2BQ
Scotland

Fraserburgh Baptist Churches

History—
In 1840 the town was visited by a Baptist disciple who held meetings and baptized a number of persons. That same year four well–known members of the Congregational church seceded and became practically the founders of the Baptist congregation here. For a time the congregation met in rented rooms before they took over the old, disused Episcopalian Chapel on Mid Street. In spite of lacking a settled minister, the congregation grew. A church was opened on Victoria Street in 1878.
Source: History of the Baptists in Scotland, by Rev. George Yuille, pub. 1926. Family History Library Book 941 K2hi, pp. 89–92. This book includes a detailed History of the Crown Terrace church.

Records—
The extent of records is unknown. For information write to:
Baptist Union of Scotland
12 Aytown Road
Glasgow G41 5RT
Scotland

Fraserburgh Episcopal Church

History—
This congregation has existed since the Reformation. The chapel was erected in 1793 and has since been enlarged and improved. A Sunday school meeting in the Town Hall was attached to the congregation. Many members were of the poor and working classes. Between 200 and 300 members resided in neighboring parishes.
Source: History of the Scottish Episcopal Church, by John P. Lawson, pub. 1843. A copy of this book is not available in the Family History Library.

Records—
Christenings, Marriages, and Burials, 1788–1854.
For more information write to:
Fraserburgh Episcopal Church
c/o 7 Whitefield Court
Buckpool
Buckie AB56 1EY
Scotland

Transcribed Records—
Some of the church records have been transcribed by Archibald Maxwell Strath and were self published in 1985 as "The registers of the Episcopal congregation, Fraserburgh, Diocese of Aberdeen and Orkney, Scotland, 1766-1884".

Copies are held by the Aberdeen County Library, Meldrum Old Meg Way, Meadows Industrial Estate, Old Meldrum, AB51 OGN, Scotland

Further copies at held at the Aberdeen & North East Scotland Family History Society, 4 King St. Aberdeen, AB24 5BD Scotland. http://www.anesfhs.org.uk/

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Fraserburgh was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Aberdeen until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Aberdeen. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Aberdeen and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Aberdeen.
The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Aberdeen. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Aberdeen and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.


Return to Aberdeenshire parish list.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 March 2011, at 19:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,101 times.