Freehay, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Freehay, Staffordshire Guide to Freehay, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Freehay, Staffordshire
Freehay St Chad Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Totmonslow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Cheadle PLU
Registration District Cheadle
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cheadle
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FREEHAY, a chapelry in Cheadle parish, Stafford; near Cheadle. It was constituted in 1847; and its post town is Cheadle, under Stafford.[1]

Freehay St Chad is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1847 from Cheadle, Staffordshire Ancient Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Please see Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Freehay St Chad is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1847 from Cheadle, Staffordshire Ancient Parish.

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap none Mar 1847-1941 (photocopied) Bur none Registers from 1847 are with the incumbent
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1847-1856 Mar none Bur 1847-1856 missing Bap/Bur 1853


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474630.

Poor Law Unions

Cheadle Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales &st=Freehay



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:07.
  • This page has been accessed 634 times.