From FamilySearch Wiki
England Surrey Surrey Parishes
Guide to Frensham, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
FRENSHAM (St. Mary), a parish, partly in the hundred of Alton, Alton and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, and partly in the hundred of Farnham, W. division of Surrey, 4 miles (S.) from Farnham. There is a small place of worship for Bryanites.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Frensham is partly in Hampshire and partly in Surrey.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474661. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 26 February 2014.
- ↑ Batches C069741, C069742, C069743, C069744, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
- ↑ Batches M069741, M069742, M069743, M069744, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Surrey,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 11 April 2012.
- ↑ 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.
|Links to Surrey-related articles|
Abinger · Addington · Addlestone · Albury · Alfold · Ash · Ashtead · Bagshot · Banstead · Barnes · Battersea All Saints · Battersea St Mary · Battersea St George · Beddington · Bermondsey St Mary Magdalen · Bermondsey Christ Church · Bermondsey St James · Bermondsey St Paul · Betchworth · Bisley · Bletchingley · Blindley Heath · Bookham, Great · Bookham, Little · Botleys and Lyne · Bowling Green · Bramley · Brixton St Matthew · Brockham Green · Buckland · Burstow · Byfleet · Camberwell St Giles · Camberwell Camden Chapel · Camberwell Christ Church · Camberwell Emmanuel · Camberwell St George · Capel · Carshalton · Caterham · Chaldon · Charlwood · Cheam · Chelsham · Chertsey · Chessington · Chiddingfold · Chilworth · Chipstead · Chobham · Clandon, East · Clandon, West · Clapham Holy Trinity · Clapham St John · Claygate · Cobham · Coldharbour · Compton · Coulsdon · Cranleigh · Crowhurst · Croydon St John the Baptist · Cuddington · Denmark Hill · Ditton, Long · Ditton, Thames · Dorking · Dunsfold · Effingham · Egham · Elstead · Epsom · Esher · Ewell · Ewhurst · Farleigh · Farncombe · Farnham · Fetcham · Frensham · Frimley · Gatton · Godalming · Godstone · Guildford Holy Trinity · Guildford St Mary · Guildford St Nicholas · Guildford the Friary · Hale · Ham · Hambledon · Hascombe · Haslemere · Hatcham St James · Headley · Herne Hill · Hersham · Holmwood · Horley · Horne · Horsell · Horsley, East · Horsley, West · Horsleydown St Mark · Horsleydown St John · Kennington St Mark · Kennington Carlisle Chapel or St James · Kennington Vauxhall Chapel · Kennington, South · Kew with Petersham · Kingston upon Thames · Kingswood · Lambeth St Mary · Lambeth All Saints, Lower Marsh · Lambeth Holy Trinity · Lambeth St Andrew · Lambeth St John the Evangelist, Waterloo Road · Lambeth St Mary the Less · Lambeth St Thomas · Leatherhead · Leigh · Limpsfield · Lingfield · Long Cross · Malden · Merrow · Merstham · Merton · Mickleham · Milford · Mitcham St Peter and Paul · Molesey, East · Molesey, West · Morden · Mortlake · Newdigate · Newington St Mary · Norbiton · Norwood All Saints · Norwood St Luke · Nutfield · Ockham · Ockley · Okewood · Oxted · Peckham St Mary Magdalen · Penge St John · Peper Harow · Petersham · Pirbright · Putney · Puttenham · Pyrford · Reigate St Mary Magdalene · Richmond · Richmond St John · Ripley · Robin Hood · Roehampton · Rotherhithe St Mary · Rotherhithe All Saints · Rotherhithe Christ Church · Rotherhithe Holy Trinity · Sanderstead · Seale · Send · Shackleford · Shalford · Shere · Shirley · Shottermill · Southwark Christchurch · Southwark Holy Trinity · Southwark St George the Martyr · Southwark St Jude St George's Road · Southwark St Mary · Southwark St Olave · Southwark St Peter · Southwark St Saviour · Southwark St Stephen · Southwark St Thomas · St Martha · Stockwell · Stoke D’Abernon · Stoke next Guildford · Streatham St Leonard · Streatham Christ Church · Summers Town · Surbiton St Mark · Sutton · Tandridge · Tatsfield · Thorpe · Thursley · Titsey · Tooting Graveney · Virginia Water · Wallington · Walton on the Hill · Walton on Thames · Walworth Common · Walworth St Peter · Wanborough · Wandsworth All Saints · Wandsworth St Anne · Warlingham · Waverley · Weybridge · Whyteleafe · Wimbledon St Mary · Windlesham · Wisley · Witley · Woking St Peter · Woldingham · Wonersh · Woodmansterne · Worplesdon · Wotton · Wrecclesham · Wyke · York Town
|Links to Hampshire-related articles|
Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
• Peculiar of Old Alresford with New Alresford and Medstead
• Peculiar of Alverstoke with Gosport
• Peculiar of North Baddesley
• Peculiar of Baughurst
• Peculiar of Binstead
• Peculiar of Bishopstoke
• Peculiar of Brighstone aka Brixton
• Peculiar of Burghclere
• Peculiar of Calbourne
• Peculiar of Cheriton with Kilmeston and Tichborne
• Peculiar of Chilbolton
• Peculiar of Chilcombe
• Peculiar of Compton
• Peculiar of Crawley with Hunton
• Peculiar of Droxford with Swanmore, Shidfield, Hill and Midlington
• Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Salisbury
• Peculiar of Easton
• Peculiar of East Meon with Combe, Steep, Ramsdean, Froxfield and Oxenbourne
• Peculiar of Exton
• Peculiar of Fareham with Catisfield and Dean
• Peculiar of Fawley with Exbury, Lepe, Cadlands, Ower, Holbury, Langley, Stanswood, Butsash, Hardley, Stone, Hythe and Brickmerston
• Peculiar of Hambledon with Denmead
• Peculiar of Hannington
• Peculiar of Havant with Leigh and Brockhampton
• Peculiar of Highclere
• Peculiar of Holdenhurst
• Peculiar of Houghton
• Peculiar of Hursley with Otterbourne, Merdon and Silkstead
• Peculiar of Hurstbourne Priors with St Mary Bourne
• Peculiar of Littleton
• Peculiar of Meonstoke with Soberton and Hoe
• Peculiar of West Meon with Privett
• Peculiar of Michelmersh with Braishfield
• Peculiar of Morestead
• Peculiar of Overton with Tadley and Polhampton
• Peculiar of Ovington
• Peculiar of Ringwood with Harbridge
• Peculiar of St. Faith or St. Cross
• Peculiar of South Stoneham and St. Mary Extra with Allington and Shamblehurst
• Peculiar of Twyford with Owslebury and Brambridge
• Peculiar of Upham with Durley
• Peculiar of Bishops Waltham with Hamble and Bursledon
• Peculiar of North Waltham
• Peculiar of Warnford
• Peculiar of Whitchurch with Freefolk and Charlecott
• Peculiar of Winnall
• Peculiar of Wonston with Sutton, Scotney and Cranborne
• Peculiar of East Woodhay with Ashmansworth
• Prerogative Court of Canterbury
• Principal Probate Registry
This page was last modified on 28 February 2014, at 22:31.
This page has been accessed 1,087 times.