Fresno Indian Subagency (California)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indian Research Gotoarrow.png Indians of California Gotoarrow.png Fresno Indian Subagency (California)


Guide to Fresno Indian Subagency (California) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Contents

Indian Tribes Associated With This Subagency

23 small bands of Indians known as the Fresno Indians

History

The Fresno Subagency was established in 1856 and was responsible for the Indians living on the Fresno Reservation on the Fresno River. It was also responsible for the Indians living on the Kings River Farm.. It operated until 1860 when both Fresno and Kings River were assigned to the Southern District. Fresno was abandoned in 1861 and Kings River in 1862. Some of the Indians from these farms moved to the Tule River Agency.

Agent and Appointment date

D. A. Enyart September 12, 1854 and M.L. Lewis April 17, 1856 [1]

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

For a description of the various records, their content, and their availability, link to the pages for each type of record. Each individual agency also has a page describing its history and the location of their records. An alphabetical list of the agencies of the Bureau of Indian Affairs can be found below. They are also linked under the topic "American Indians" for each state. Pages for individual sub-agencies are listed alphabetically under the category of "American Indian Subagencies" and are linked under the topic of "American Indians" for each state where they existed.


Some historical records of this subagency, including correspondence, etc., are part of the records of the California Superintendency records.

References

  1. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. By Edward E. Hill. Clearwater Publishing Co., New York, NY ©1974. FHL Book 970.1 H551o
  • Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
  • Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 March 2015, at 20:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,028 times.