Frisby on the Wreak, LeicestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngLeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Frisby on the Wreak, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Melton Mowbray PLU
Registration District Melton Mowbray
Records begin
Parish registers: 1659
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Goscote
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FRISBY-on-the-Wreak (St. Thomas à Becket), a parish, in the union of Melton-Mowbray, hundred of East Goscote,  N. division of the county of Leicester, 4 miles (W. S. W.) from Melton-Mowbray.  There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Frisby on the Wreak, Leicestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Frisby on the Wreak, Leicestershire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1659-1910
1659-1910
1659-1910

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Frisby on the Wreake Bap 1659 - 1885 Marr 1659 - 1836 (Banns to1989) Bur 1659 - 1916

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438742.

Poor Law Unions

Melton Mowbray Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Refereence

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 266-269. Date accessed: 10 September 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 July 2014, at 01:35.
  • This page has been accessed 493 times.