Frithville, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Frithville, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Frithville, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Frithville, Lincolnshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Bolingbroke Soke
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Boston PLU
Registration District Boston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1823
Bishop's Transcripts: 1823
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Holland
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FRITH-VILLE, or West Fen, a township, in the union of Boston, W. division of the soke of Bolingbroke, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln. This township, with six others, was created such by an act of parliament in 1812. A neat church was built in 1821, at Mount-Pleasant.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Frithville Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Frithville

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438763.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Boston Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Frithville/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 266-269. Date accessed: 19 August 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 May 2015, at 04:21.
  • This page has been accessed 2,020 times.