Fryslân or Friesland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Fryslân or Friesland, The Netherlands ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Fryslân or Friesland|
The capital city of Fryslân is Ljouwert (Leeuwarden). See: Ljouwert (Leeuwarden)
For Geographical and Historical information see: Fryslân (Friesland)
The 1984 Guinness Book of Records credits the Frisian flag as dating from the 9th century.
Getting started with Fryslân or Friesland research
“That all Frisians would be fully free, the born and the unborn, so long as the wind blows from heaven and the child cries, grass grows green and flowers bloom, as far as the sun rises and the world stands.”
From a 12th century law text
Jurisdictions in Fryslân or Friesland
Researchers who need to search the Civil Registration records (records after 1811) in Friesland need to use the records of the appropriate municipalities.
The Church records are generally found in the local towns.
A great web-site for genealogical research is: Tresoar. AlleFriezen also covers genealogy in various municipalities in Friesland. Includes original images and the ability to search for multiple people in the same record.
Another good site for finding records is: Wie Was Wie
Especially in the period between 1880 and 1920, many people left Friesland to find a new home in the United States. Many of them settled in Michigan, although quite a few ended up in other states such as New York or Wisconsin.
- (helpful tools and resources, gazetteers)
- (language dictionary, handwriting guide or tutorial, etc.)
Did you know?
In Fryslân you will often come across the name Anne, but understand that this is a male person! It is pronounced 'Onne.' The English equivalent is Andrew or Andy. The female name is Anna or Antje.
Things you can do
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
- This page was last modified on 10 August 2015, at 01:50.
- This page has been accessed 4,230 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News