Fulbourn St Vigor, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Fulbourn St Vigor, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fulbourn St Vigor, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Flendish
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Chesterton PLU
Registration District Chesterton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cambridge
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FULBOURN, a district, in the union of Chesterton, hundred of Flendish, county of Cambridge, 5 miles (E. S. E.) from Cambridge; comprising the parishes of All Saints and St. Vigors. Here is a place of worship for Independents. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Parish registers for St. Vigor's Church, Fulbourn, 1538-1877 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for St. Vigor's Church, Fulbourn, 1599-1857 at FHL

Non-Confornmist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Particular Baptist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241223.


Genealogy From Periodicals

Edwards, David. Norfolk Patients Who Died at Cambridgeshire County Asylum, Fulbourn. Mr Edwards has extracted a list of 16 patents from the above named Asylum, who were originally from Norfolk, mainly Kings Lynn, South Lynn, Thetfore and Yarmouth. The list gives the Surname, Forename, where from, Date admitted and date ied, and where buried. He advises the Asylum Cemetery register for 1862-1900 is missing, so the burial place cannot be confirmed. Article in The Norfolk Ancestor, new series, vol. 8,pt2,page 75. Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j new ser. v.8, pt.2 (June 2011)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Fulbourn St Vigor on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 269-272. Date accessed and adapted: 03 July 2013.
Return to Cambridgeshire Parishes



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2015, at 02:31.
  • This page has been accessed 1,935 times.