Fulfords Ambo, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Fulfords Ambo, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Fulfords Ambo, Yorkshire|
|Hundred||Ouse and Derwent|
|Poor Law Union||York|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1603|
|Rural Deanery||City of York|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
FULFORD (St. Oswald), a parish, in the union of York, wapentake of Ouse and Derwent, E. riding of York containing the township of Fulford-Water and the township of Fulford-Gate, 2 miles (S.) from York, on the road to Selby. Church of England records began in 1653. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
FULFORD-AMBO, a parish in York district, E. R. Yorkshire; on the river Ouse, near the Great Northern railway, 2 miles S of York. It consists of the townships of Fulford-Gate and Fulford-Water. The church was rebuilt in 1866. There is a Wesleyan chapel.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Fulford exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FULFORD PARISH (1716) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464223.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 272-275. Date Accessed: 7 November 2013.
- ↑ John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted 26 March 2013.
- ↑ 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (City and Ainsty) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 16 October 2014.
- This page was last modified on 12 May 2015, at 20:10.
- This page has been accessed 2,607 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News