Garboldisham, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Garboldisham, Norfolk
Garboldisham St John The Baptist.JPG
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Guiltcross
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Guiltcross PLU
Registration District Guiltcross
Records begin
Parish records: 1609
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rockland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GARBOLDISHAM (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union and hundred of Guilt-Cross, W. division of Norfolk, 4¼ miles (S. S. E.) from East Harling. Part of the tower of the ancient church of the merged parish of All Saints is remaining. There is a place of worship for Primitive Methodists. [1]


Garboldisham has two churches, the ruin of Garboldisham All Saints whose tower collapsed into the nave in 1734. Nearby is the 15 th century church of Garboldisham St John the Baptist which is the parish church.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Guiltcross 1837-1902
  • Thetford 1902-1938
  • Wayland 1939-1974

Church records

Garboldisham, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
Garboldisham, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1609-1901
1609-1901
1609-1901
FS ATs 1726-1812 1726-1812 1726-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1609-1715, 1725-1901 Undefined 1609-1715, 1725-1901 Undefined 1609-1715, 1725-1901
JOIN
1813-1837

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 197/1-8

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438861.


Poor Law Unions

Guiltcross Poor Law Union     

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 275-279. Date accessed: 18 March 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:58.
  • This page has been accessed 638 times.