Garfield County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.pngColoradoGotoarrow.pngGarfield County

Guide to Garfield County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death record, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Garfield County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Garfield County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 10, 1883
County Seat Glenwood Springs
Courthouse
Address Garfield County Courthouse
109 8th St Ste 200
Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone: 970.945.5004
Garfield County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1883
and military records from 1910; District Court has divorce, probate
and court records[1]

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1893-1909 [2]*
1884 [2]*
1883-1889 [2]*
1883
1883 [2]
1883 [2]
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

County Seat

Glenwood Springs [3]

Parent County

Cogarfield.jpg
1883--Garfield County was created 10 February 1883 from Summit County.

Neighboring Counties

Record Loss

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Garfield County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local History

Local histories are available for Garfield County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.

Maps

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Garfield County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

Public Records

School Records

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available in this online database Archives Search.
Garfield County Divorce Record 1906 - 1916

Garfield County Inheritance Tax 1909 - 1919, 1926 - 1942

Courthouse
Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

Libraries

Garfield Co Public Library District
796 Megan Avenue
Telephone: 970- 625-4270
Website www.garfieldlibraries.org/GCLD/index.aspx

Museums
Societies

Frontier Historical Society
1001 Colorado Avenue
Glenwood Springs, Colorado, 81601
Telephone 970-945-4448
Website http://www.glenwoodhistory.com/

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the Family History Library Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.

Colorado State Archives has put the Garfield Inheritance Tax Records Index for 1909-1919 & 1926-1942 on-line.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Colorado Vital Records Search

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [4]

Marriage
Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [4]

Divorce

The Colorado State Archives has put a name only Index to the Garfield County Divorce Records for the period 7/26/1906 to 3/17/1916 on-line.

Places

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Garfield County, Colorado. Page 98 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 92.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 02:27.
  • This page has been accessed 5,525 times.