Garmondsway Moor, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Garmondsway Moor, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Garmondsway Moor, Durham|
|Poor Law Union||Sedgefield PLU|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
GARMONDSWAY-MOOR, a township, in the parish of Bishop's-Middleham, union of Sedgefield, N. E. division of Stockton ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 6¾ miles (S. E. by S.) from Durham. Garmondsway Moor is an extra-parochial place.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Garmondsway Moor is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information. It is advisable to search the following parishes:
Bishop Middleham St Michael, Durham
Kelloe St Helen, Durham
Sedgefield St Edmund the Bishop, Durham
Trimdon St Mary Magdalene, Durham
FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241356.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Garmondsway Moor on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 01:50.
- This page has been accessed 1,422 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News