Gatley, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Gatley, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Gatley

Guide to Gatley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Gatley, eccl. dist. and vil., Cheadle par., E. Cheshire -- dist., pop. 1395; the vil. is 1 mile W. of Cheadle.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.


Church Records

The district church for Stockport Etchells from 1882.

Gatley Chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Gatley Chapelry (1882) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE
  NONE
1882-1932
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
1881-1899
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Gatley Chapelry, 1882-1932 Cheshire Record Office no.: P254/1.

Parish Registers: Gatley Film
Marriages, 1882-1932.
1656489 Item 5

Bishop's transcripts for Gatley Chapelry, 1881-1899 Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 91

Bishops Transcripts: Gatley
Film
Baptisms, 1881-1891, 1893, 1892, 1894-1897, 1899.
1647429 Item 5

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Congregational

Non-Conformists Church Records:

Church records for the Gatley Congregational Church, 1779-1950 Manchester Archives Central Library call no.: C2/1/1/1-2, C2/2/1.

Church records for the Gatley Congregational Church Film
Baptisms, 1779-1880, 1896. Baptisms and marriages, 1881-1945; roll of church members, 1872-1917. Burials, 1823-1950.
2355750 Items 5 - 7

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Stockport (1837-1930)

Poor Law Unions

  • Stockport

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites

References

  1. John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles Date accessed: 24th January 2014.



Bibliography


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:44.
  • This page has been accessed 563 times.