Gee Cross, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Gee Cross, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Gee Cross

Guide to Gee Cross, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

WERNETH, a township, in the parish and union of Stockport, hundred of Macclesfield, N. division of the county of Chester, 5 miles (N. E. by E.) from Stockport. In the township are the hamlets of Gee-Cross and Compstall-Bridge, it consists of one wide street, half a mile in length, on the road from Stockport to Mottram-in-Longdendale. A church, dedicated to St. Paul, a plain but neat structure, was erected in 1841. At Compstall is a place of worship for Methodists, and at GeeCross one for Unitarians. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.


Church Records

Gee-Cross is a hamlet in the parish of Stockport. Created a parish in 1880 from Comstall, Hyde St George and Hyde St Thomas.-*

Gee Cross Chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Gee Cross Holy Trinity Chapelry (1880) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1818-1906
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
1889-1902
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1889-1909
  NONE

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City

Bishop's transcripts for Gee-Cross Chapelry, 1899-1902 Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 93.

Bishops Transcripts: Gee Cross
Film
Baptisms, burials, 1889, 1891-1892, 1895-1898, burials, 1899.
1647429 Item 6
Baptisms, burials, 1899-1900, 1902.
1647430 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Unitarian

Non-Conformists Church Records:

Hyde, Gee Cross Unitarian, burials, 4 Jan. 1786 to 14 Apr. 1877
References: (Partial Index to) Church records, 1714-1848 / Gee Cross Unitarian Church (Hyde)

Church records for the Gee Cross Unitarian Church (Hyde) Film
Hyde Gee Cross Unitarian, burials, 4 Jan. 1786 to 14 Apr. 1877
Granite Mountain Record Vault British B2 Access Services 6395265

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Stockport (1837-1930)

Poor Law Unions

  • Stockport

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 513-517. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.


Bibliography


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:44.
  • This page has been accessed 665 times.